NDSU plans farm/ranch transition workshops | TSLN.com

NDSU plans farm/ranch transition workshops

These workshops can help families whether they are transferring their farm or ranch to the next generation or dividing the assets among heirs.

North Dakota farm and ranch families have more opportunities to learn how to develop a plan to transition their business to the next generation.

The North Dakota State University Extension Service has scheduled 15 Design Your Succession Plan workshops throughout the state in the next few months.

The multisession workshops are designed for families interested in shaping the future ownership of the family farm or ranch – the family legacy – whether that is transferring a viable business to the next generation or determining how to divide farm/ranch assets among heirs. The workshops are for husbands, wives, daughters, sons, in-laws and anyone else who is part of the family business.

"Attending the program together was helpful," says Annette Rockeman of Donnybrook. She attended a Design Your Succession Plan workshop in Minot with her husband, Mark, and their two sons. "We all heard the same information. We had some good discussions on the way home each evening."

The Design Your Succession Plan workshops were developed to assist families in three areas:

Recommended Stories For You

Getting started on a succession plan

Opening the lines of communication in the family

Choosing and working with professionals to complete the plan

Families receive a workbook to help them get started on their succession plan while at the workshop and a binder with the resources they need to continue to work on their plan after they go home.

"Having a succession plan in place for a family farm or ranch business is a recipe for a successful transition to the next generation," says NDSU Extension family economics specialist Lori Scharmer. "Even if you have attended other transition, estate or succession planning classes, consider attending Design Your Succession Plan to get a start on your succession plan."

The dates and locations of the workshops and the Extension agent to contact for more information are:

Killdeer – Dec. 29 and 30, 5 p.m. Mountain time, Dunn County road building; Becky Buchmann, (701) 284-6248, becky.buchmann@ndsu.edu

Napoleon – Jan. 4, 5 and 12, 6 p.m., Logan County Courthouse; Sheldon Gerhardt, (701) 754-2504, sheldon.gerhardt@ndsu.edu

Beulah – Jan. 7, 11 and 14, 6 p.m., Beulah Chamber Complex; Craig Askim, (701) 873-5195, craig.askim@ndsu.edu

Bismarck – Jan. 14, 19 and 21, 6 p.m., Bismarck Career Academy; Ashley Stegeman, (701) 221-6865, ashley.stegeman@ndsu.edu

Pembina – Jan. 18 and 19, 6 p.m., Pembina Community Center; Samantha Lahman, (701) 265-8411, samantha.lahman@ndsu.edu

Bowbells – Jan. 19, 21 and 26, 1:30 p.m., Burke County Courthouse Community Room; Dan Folske, (701) 377-2927, dan.folske@ndsu.edu

Grand Forks – Jan, 19 and 26 and Feb. 2, 5:30 p.m., Grand Forks County Extension office conference room; Willie Huot, (701) 780-8229, willie.huot@ndsu.edu

Lisbon – Jan. 26 and 28, 6 p.m., Ransom County Courthouse; Brian Zimprich, (701) 683-6128, brian.zimprich@ndsu.edu

Jamestown – Feb. 1, 2 and 4, 6 p.m., NDSU Extension office, Stutsman County; Alicia Harstad, (701) 252-9030, alicia.harstad@ndsu.edu

Cando – Feb, 8, 9 and 11, 6 p.m., Cando Armory Building; Lindy Berg, (701) 968-4362, lindy.l.berg@ndsu.edu

Mohall – Feb. 16 and 18, 9 a.m., Renville County Courthouse; LoAyne Voigt, (701) 756-6392, loayne.voigt@ndsu.edu

Park River – Feb. 23 and 24, 6 p.m., Walsh County Extension office; Brad Brummond, (701) 284-6248, bradley.brummond@ndsu.edu

Casselton – March 10 and 15, 6 p.m., Central Cass School; Kelcey Hoffmann, (701) 241-5700, kelcey.hoffmann@ndsu.edu

Dickinson – March 14 and 15, 5:30 p.m. Mountain time, Stark County Courthouse; Samantha Roth, (701) 456-7665, samantha.e.roth@ndsu.edu

Minot – March 21 and 24, 6 p.m., Ward County Office Building; Paige Brummund, (701) 857-6444, paige.f.brummund@ndsu.edu

Visit https://www.ag.ndsu.edu/succession for more information about the program.

–NDSU Extension

Go back to article