| TSLN.com

Fall Cattle Journal 2016

Out in large numbers

The twenty fourth annual Sheridan, Wyoming, Elks’ Youth Rodeo was held Aug. 28 and 29, 2016. The rodeo’s 26 events attracts contestants from Alberta, Oklahoma, Texas, Montana, Idaho, Washington, Oregon, North Dakota, Colorado, South Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming. Three arenas, running at the same time, were used to accommodate the 831 entrees each day. This was a hard two days with very skilled competitors. We were impressed with the contestants’ attitudes and their commitment.

Cash and awards of $71,988 were presented to contestants ages 17 and under. These consisted of cash and scholarships of $12,551 and awards valued at $59,437.

Tanner McInerney, 16, from Alzada, Montana, won the Senior All Around, a one-year lease of a new Ford truck, provided by Fremont Motors, Sheridan. Tanner has been a contestant in this rodeo since he was a Pee Wee. He has always been willing to help other contestants or our rodeo crew. The Elks are very proud of him and wish him the best in the future.

Haiden Thompson, 12, From Lusk, Wyoming, won the All Around Youth award, a Jackson three horse slant load trailer, provided by Prime Rate Motors, Sheridan.

Tiersyn Grubb, 9, from Spearfish, South Dakota received a $2,000 scholarship as the All Around Youth Reserve Champion.

Kaden Lappe, 17, From Dell, Montana received the All Around Youth Reserve Runner-up $1,000 scholarship and Emilee Pauley, 17, From Wall, South Dakota received the Senior Reserve Champion $2,000 scholarship

The Senior Reserve Runner-up receiving a saddle was Kaden Lappe 17, From Dell, Montana. The saddle for the Intermediate All Around went to Haiden Thompson, 12, from Lusk, Wyoming. The saddle for the Junior All Around went to Tiersyn Grubb, 9, From Spearfish South Dakota, and the saddle for the pee wee all around went to Turek Thompson, 6, From Lusk, Wyoming.

The Sheridan Elk’s Lodge #520 wishes to thank all of the contestants and sponsors for their help in making this possible and is looking forward to holding this event again next year

Intermediate Reserve, Acelyn Brink, Newell, SD

Intermediate Reserve Runner-Up, Brylee Grubb, Spearfish, SD

Junior Reserve, Hadley Thompson, Lusk, WY

Junior Reserve Runner-Up, Harley Ann Baas, Hudson, Co

Pee Wee All Around-Saturday, Turek Thompson, Lusk, WY

Pee Wee All Around-Sunday, Turek Thompson, Lusk, WY

Pee Wee All Around Reserve, Trytin Helfrich, Watford City, ND

Hard Luck Award, Ellie Bard, Sheridan, Wy

Barrel Racing

Senior, Samantha Kerns, Haines, Ore.

Intermediate, Haiden Thompson, Lusk, WY

Junior, Caitlin Moore, Wright, WY

Pee Wee-Saturday, Turek Thompson, Lusk, WY

Pee Wee-Sunday, Turek Thompson,

Pole Bending

Senior, Shay Hough, Gillette, WY

Intermediate, Pate Tavegie, Newcastle, Wy

Junior, Caitlin Moore, Wright, Wy,

Pee Wee-Saturday, Turek Thompson

Pee Wee-Sunday, Turek Thompson

Goat Tail Tying

Junior, Harley Ann Baas, Hudson, Co

Pee Wee-Saturday, Turek Thompson, Lusk, WY

Pee Wee-Sunday, Turek Thompson, Lusk, WY

Goat Tying

Senior, Jacey Thompson

Intermediate, Haiden Thompson

Flag Race

Senior, Tanner Mcinerney, Alzada, Mt

Intermediate, Haiden Thompson

Junior, Jud Farella, Cheyenne, Wy

Crepe Paper Race

Senior, Tayle Brink, Newell, SD and Makenna Balkenbush, Sheridan, WY

Intermediate, Acelyn Brink, Newell, SD and Brylee Grubb, Spearfish, SD

Junior, Tierson Grubb, Spearfish, SD and Hadley Thompson

Break-Away Roping

Senior, Kaden Lappe, Dell, Mt

Intermediate, Cory Bomhoff, Cheyenne, Wy

Dally Team Roping

Senior, Wheaton William, Big Horn, Wy and Jarren Johnson, Casper, Wy,

Intermediate, Caden Moreland, Decker, Mt and Nick Albrecht, Sheridan, Wy

Steer Stopping

Senior: Tanner Mcinerney, Alzada, Mt,

Intermediate, Mason Trollinger, Ten Sleep, Wy

Ribbon Roping


Jarren Johnson , Casper, Wy

Tayle Brink, Newell, SD

Calf Roping


Wyatt Tarver, Gillette, Wy.

–Sheridan Elks Lodge