47 chosen for Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame | TSLN.com

47 chosen for Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame

Forty five men and two women comprise WCHOF’s Class of 2017 Honorees. Listed by their geographic region and county, they include:

Region 1: CAMPBELL – Harold Scott and Robert “Bob” Isenberger CROOK – Alden C. Robinson and Donald “Dee” Clark WESTON – Arthur Leslie “Art” Montgomery and Joseph Stephen “Joe” Fordyce

Region 2: GOSHEN – Richard T. “Bucky” Barnett and Joe W. “JW” Buckhaults NIOBRARA – George Donald “Powder River” Thompson; William “Bill” Greer and Murray Butler PLATTE – Jimmie and Gloria Grieve

Region 3: ALBANY – Frank “Judge” Lilley and James “Jim” Atkinson LARAMIE – Charles Dunning and Billy Wilkinson

Region 4: NATRONA – Benjamin “Ben” Roberts and James Henry “Hank” Miles CONVERSE – William Shaw “Bill” Gray and James Oscar “Jim” Middleton

Region 5: JOHNSON – Church Hill Firnekas and Wes Taylor SHERIDAN – Floyd “Hawk” Shaffer and Robert L. “Bob” Snyder

Region 6: BIG HORN – Don “Reckless Red” Bell and Jack Graves PARK – Hugh “Hughie” Maller; Edward “Eddie” Dvarishkis and Cecil Vaughn McMillin WASHAKIE – Ray Duane Rice

Region 7: CARBON – Louis D. “Louie” Boles and Albert D. “Bert” Johnson SWEETWATER – Percy Edwards and Abner Luman

Region 8: HOT SPRINGS – Carl Obe Dockery and Ernest Nathan “Nate” Brown FREMONT – John G. “Jack” Corbett and George Earl “Rasty” Givens

Region 9: UINTA – Lewis “Junior” Martin; Howard Paul “Red” Peterson and J. William “Bill” Martin LINCOLN – Walter C. “Buster” McIlvain

Region 10: SUBLETTE – Otto Arthur Herman Miller and Robert “Bob” Lozier TETON – Dail Knori and James “Bill” Beard

The Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame (WCHF) Board of Directors conducted annual business meetings May 20 – 21 at the Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center in Casper. All current WCHF officers were elected for another four-year term. Shelly Martinez and Wendy Auzqui, board members who requested to retire, were replaced by Wade Lupher of Mountain View and Lee Martinez of Kaycee, respectively. Plans were outlined for the fourth annual WCHF Honoree Induction and associated events, and the Class of 2017 WCHF Honorees was selected.

The process of selection was begun by committees in ten geographic regions across the state soon after nominations closed. The WCHF sends each nomination to the county from which it was submitted, where regional honorees are chosen by their respective committees. Nominees ranked at the top in each county are again reviewed during the state board meeting.

Successful candidates and their nominators have just been notified electronically and received their invitations to the 2017

Be sure to set aside the September weekend of the 23rd and 24th to participate in another historic occasion, as the WCHOF Class of 2017 is inducted. Many regional induction activities will be held across the Cowboy State this summer, preliminary to the State Induction; so watch this publication for dates to save.

The first regional induction for the Class of 2017 is Region 1, Crook, Campbell and Weston counties, to be held at the CamPlex Wyoming Center in Gillette on Saturday, June 24 at 6 pm. Watch this publication for details on that event, which follows the Wyoming Wild Ride Ranch Rodeo; along with news of other exciting local events planned across the Cowboy State this summer.

WCHF Induction Ceremony and festivities, scheduled for Saturday, September 23 and Sunday, September 24 in Casper.

Headquarters for WCHF participants while in Casper will be Ramkota Hotel and Conference Center, just off the Interstate at 800 North Poplar Street. The WCHF has reserved a block of rooms which Ramkota is generously offering to induction attendees at a reduced daily rate of $74.99. Mention you are WCHF Induction participants when booking to take advantage of the special.

A Hospitality Room will open near the Ramkota pool Saturday at 6 pm for a festive mix and mingle evening including refreshments, silent and live auctions and musical entertainment. Dance music will begin at 9 pm.

–Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User