ERA: Albuquerque rodeo uses instant replay |

ERA: Albuquerque rodeo uses instant replay

Saturday night at the Elite Rodeo Athletes (ERAs) Albuquerque Premier Tour event, saw instant replay video being used for the first time ever at a rodeo to review a judges call; and the athletes came out the winners.

Steer wrestler Stockton Graves (Alva, Oklahoma) began to celebrate a 3.35-second run, only to hear the judges announce that he had broken the barrier, resulting in a five-second penalty. Without hesitation, Graves threw the blue flag and challenged the call, claiming the neck rope on the steer failed. Upon further review of the instant replay video, the judges determined that Graves was correct and he was able to keep his original 3.35-second time.

Luke Branquinho (Los Alamos, California), the last bull-dogger of the evening was the second cowboy to use the instant replay challenge. The judges determined that Branquinho’s take-down was illegal and disqualified him. Branquinho challenged the call, asking for an instant replay review. Seconds later he was rewarded with not only a reversal, but determination that he had produced the fastest time ever in the ERA of 3.05 seconds.

“I think that instant replay needs to go everywhere,” said Branquinho. “You know we make or break ourselves out here and if we have a chance to get it reviewed and a have call overturned, that’s what happens. I think it’s the best deal in rodeo right now.”

“I think that instant replay needs to go everywhere. You know we make or break ourselves out here and if we have a chance to get it reviewed and a have call overturned, that’s what happens. I think it’s the best deal in rodeo right now.” Luke Branquinho, cowboy

Branquinho took first place in the event, with Graves coming in second and Bray Armes (Pilot Point, Texas) landing in third. Graves remains the leader in the ERA steer wrestling world standings with 1,687.5 points.

The team of Turtle Powell (Stephenville, Texas) and Jhett Johnson (Casper, Wyoming) took home the prize in team roping Saturday, roping in a time of 3.94 seconds for first place. The win moved the World Champions from fourth place to No. 3 in the ERA world standings.

With a time of 3.97 seconds, Chad Masters (Clarksville, Tennessee) and Travis Graves (Jay Oklahoma) followed in second place. Montana’s Clay Tryan and Nevada’s Jade Corkill rounded out the Top 3 with a time of 4.04 seconds.

Only one-one hundredth of a second separated first and second place in the barrel racing during Albuquerque’s Stop No. 8; Ashley Schafer (Yoder, Wyoming) and Fallon Taylor (Collinsville, Texas), raced to times of 13.96 and 13.97 seconds, respectively for the top two spots. Schafer’s win once again makes her the sole leader in the ERA barrel racing world standings.

After her win on Friday during Stop No. 7 with a time of 14.09 seconds, Lisa Lockhart’s (Oelrichs, South Dakota) 14.03-second run on Saturday landed her in third place. Her performances this weekend, moved her up to second place in the season’s standings, ahead of Chayni Chamberlain (Stephenville, Texas).

The tie-down competition was nearly a repeat of Salt Lake City, Utah’s Stop No. 6 – Tuf Cooper was in the lead with his brother Clif Cooper waiting to ride. This time, the result was different. On his re-run, due to his first calf being inadvertently released, Clif finished in 8.47 seconds and finished in sixth place. Tuf’s 7.36-second performance was the fastest of the evening, as he claimed his second win in Albuquerque. He was followed by Idaho’s Matt Shiozawa (7.47 seconds) and Cody Ohl (7.85 seconds).

On the other end of the arena, Ohl turned in another impressive performance. His bull Bushwacked bucked off ERA’s then No. 1 bull rider Kanin Asay in an extraordinary 2.54 seconds, remarkably similar to his three-time World Champion father Bushwacker (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls).

After four consecutive no-score competitions, Canada’s Ty Pozzobon rode to his second win of the season aboard Red Neck with 84 points. Cody Campbell (Summerville, Oregon) captured second place, a repeat of Friday night’s results, with an 81-point ride on Buster (TNT Rodeo). A third place finish for Chandler Bownds (79 points) resulted in a return to the No. 1 position in the ERA bull riding world standings for the Lubbock, Texas, cowboy. Campbell moved from sixth to No. 2 in the overall rankings.

Isaac Diaz followed up his second place finish on Friday with a third place finish on Saturday to ride to the No. 1 ranking in the ERA saddle bronc world standings. His 85-point ride on Midnight Cowboy (Stace Smith) yielded him 225 points, enough to pull ahead of Wade Sundell in the overall standings.

The winner of Stop No. 8’s saddle bronc competition was Tyler Corrington with an 86.5 ride on Hells Fire Hostage (Cervi). It was the first win of the season for Corrington. In second place was Zeke Thurston with 86 points.

Cort Scheer used a challenge to evoke an instant replay review to overturn a judge’s call. His challenge was successful and resulted in a fourth place finish for Scheer.

In bareback bronc riding, Tilden Hooper executed an 85.5-point ride to capture his second win of the 2016 season. Steven Dent took second place with 84.5 points and Bobby Mote rounded out the Top 3 with 83.5 points.

Stop No. 8 of the ERA Albuquerque Premier Tour will air on FS2 (Fox Sports 2) on Wednesday, June 1 at 8 p.m. ET.

In two months, on July 19-23, the ERA athletes will return to Salt Lake City for the Days of 47 Rodeo taking place at Vivint Smart Home Arena. Tickets are on sale now at and start at $10.

The 2016 season will culminate with the $3 million ERA World Championships in Dallas, Texas, at the American Airlines Center on Nov. 9-13, where the 2016 ERA World Champions will be crowned. Tickets for the five-day event are on sale now at or by calling 800 745 3000. For more information, visit

Stop No. 8 ERA Premier Tour

May 21, 2016, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Bareback Bronc Riding

Tilden Hooper, 85.5 points, $3,625, 275 points

Steven Dent, 84.5 points, $3,000, 250 points

Bobby Motes, 83.5 points, $2,375, 225 points

Saddle Bronc Riding

Tyler Corrington, 86.5 points, $3,625, 275 points

Zeke Thurston, 86 points, $3,000, 250 points

Isaac Diaz, 85 points, $2,375, 225 points

Bull Riding

Ty Pozzobon, 84 points, $4,062.50, 275 points

Cody Campbell, 81 points, $3,437.50, 250 points

Chandler Bownds, 79 points, $2,812.50, 225 points

Steer Wrestling

Luke Branquinho, 3.05 seconds, $3,625, 275 points

Stockton Graves, 3.35 seconds, $3,000, 250 points

Bray Armes, 4.04 seconds, $2,375, 225 points

Team Roping

Powell/Johnson, 3.94 seconds, $3,625, 275 points

Masters/Graves, 3.97 seconds, $3,000, 250 points

Tryan/Corkill, 4.04 seconds, $2,375, 225 points

Tie-Down Roping

Tuf Cooper, 7.36 seconds, $3,625, 275 points

Matt Shiozawa, 7.47 seconds, $3,000, 250 points

Cody Ohl, 7.85 seconds, $2,375, 225 points

Barrel Racing

Ashley Schafer, 13.96 seconds, $3,625, 275 points

Fallon Taylor, 13.97 seconds, $3,000, 250 points

Lisa Lockhart, 14.03 seconds, $2,375, 225 points

ERA World Standings as of May 21

Bareback Bronc Riding

Bobby Mote, 1600 points

Steven Dent, 1512.5 points

Tilden Hooper, 1,450 points

Saddle Bronc Riding

Isaac Diaz, 1,725 points

Wade Sundell, 1662.5 points

Bradley Harter, 1,550 points

Bull Riding

Chandler Bownds, 1,025 points

Cody Campbell, 950 points

Beau Hill, 900 points

Steer Wrestling

Stockton Graves, 1,687.5 points

Tyler Pearson, 1,525 points

Bray Armes, 1,450 points

Team Roping

Begay/O’Brien Cooper, 1,675 points

Tryan/Corkill, 1,250 points

Powell/Johnson, 1,175 points

Tie-Down Roping

Shane Hanchey, 1,425 points

Matt Shiozawa, 1,350 points

Clif Cooper, 1,325 points

Barrel Racing

Ashley Schafer, 1,725 points

Lisa Lockhart, 1,650 points

Chayni Chamberlain, 1,612.5 points

–Elite Rodeo Association