Hermosa woman takes reins of SDQHA | TSLN.com

Hermosa woman takes reins of SDQHA

Larry Larson
for Tri-State Livestock News
2016 SDQHA Executive Committee: seated - President Amanda Dikoff, Hermosa; Secretary/Treasurer/Web Master Jan Colton, Rushville, NE; and Vice-President Jodie Svennes, Brandt. State Board of Directors, standing - Amanda Coulter, Garretson; Meghan Petersen, Brookings; Heather Sutton, Gettysburg; Meagan Hardee, Watertown; Dean Townsend, Andover; Becky Johnson, Mud Butte; Sheila Prins, Sisseton; Kristen Gonsoir, Groton; and Debbi Holmes, Virgil. National Directors: Dean Johnson, Mud Butte; Jim Hunt, Faith; Janet Hansen, Fort Pierre, Mike Clites, Brookings; Georga Sutton, Gettysburg (Honorary Vice-President); Larry Larson, Rapid City (Director-At-Large) and Jim Hootman, Harrisburg (Director Emeritus). Not pictured are Director Kerry Papendick, Rapid City, and Director-At-Large Dr. R.M. Christensen, Harrisburg. All photos by Larry Larson

CHAMBERLAIN, SD – Now in it’s 68th year and with the promotion of the American Quarter Horse as it’s main goal, the membership of the South Dakota Quarter Horse Association met for their annual Convention and Awards Presentation on January 15-16. Their committee meetings and banquet were held at the Cedar Shore Resort on the west bank of the Missouri River near Chamberlain, South Dakota.

Election of the new slate of SDQHA Officers for the year 2016 was held by the newly established Board Of Directors immediately following the general membership meeting on Saturday afternoon. Taking the helm as the 2016 President is Amanda Dikoff from Hermosa. Re-elected Vice-President was Jodie Svennes, Brandt, with Jan Colton from Rushville, Nebraska, reappointed as the SDQHA Secretary/Treasurer/Web Master for the coming year. Completing the 2016 SDQHA Executive Committee are the newly elected Board Of Directors: EAST: Meagan Hardee, Watertown; Dean Townsend, Andover; and Amanda Coulter from Garretson. WEST: Kerry Papendick, Rapid City; Becky Johnson, Mud Butte; and Heather Sutton from Gettysburg. CENTRAL: Kristen Gonsoir, Groton, and Sheila Prins, Sisseton. AT-LARGE: Jodie Svennes, Brandt; Amanda Dikoff, Hermosa; and Meghan Petersen from Brookings.

National Directors representing the SDQHA are Mike Clites, Brookings; Janet Hansen, Fort Pierre; Dean Johnson, Mud Butte; and Jim Hunt from Faith. Additionally, on the AQHA National Board Of Directors are Directors-At-Large Dr. R.M. Christensen, Harrisburg, and Larry Larson from Rapid City with Jim Hootman, Harrisburg, as a Director Emeritus and Georgia Sutton from Gettysburg, AQHA Honorary Vice-President. During the general membership meeting, an election was held to nominate a candidate to fill an SDQHA National Directorship opening created by the impending elevation of Mike Clites at the upcoming AQHA Convention in Las Vegas in mid-March. The membership elected Debbi Holmes from Virgil. She will be presented to the Nominations and Credentials Committee as our recommendation to the board. South Dakota is delegated 4 directors as per the total population of registered American Quarter Horses in our state.

The evening began with a Social Hour and was followed by a banquet, fund-raising auction and awards presentation for the year 2015. The top winners for the year included:

• Amateur All-Around: Delci Christensen / Plenty Good N Famous, Webster, South Dakota

• Amateur Reserve All-Around: Victoria Cuka / Invitation For Easter, Vale, South Dakota

• Novice Amateur All-Around: Delci Christensen / Plenty Good N Famous, Webster, South Dakota

• Novice Amateur Reserve All-Around: Victoria Cuka / Invitation For Easter, Vale, South Dakota

• Amateur Select All-Around: Nancy Tweet / Many Good Taxreturns, Madison, South Dakota.

• Amateur State Champion: Plenty Good N Famous / Delci Christensen, Webster, South Dakota.

SDQHA special award winners were also announced during the Awards Ceremony and included 2015 Sportsmanship Winner – Verla Schaer, Gordon, Nebraska, Kristen Gonsoir, Groton, the Affiliate Most Valuable Professional (MVP) for 2015 and also Immediate Past Secretary/Treasurer/Web Master; Jim Hootman, Harrisburg, Volunteer Of The Year; AnneMarie Johnson, Black Hawk, Awards Chairman; and Kerry Papendick, Rapid City, as the Immediate Past President.

A new award implemented in 2015 was the SDQHA Producer Of The Year. The committee spent considerable time in their quest for a deserving AQHA Ranching Heritage Breeder from the state of South Dakota that promotes the American Quarter Horse and exemplifies the breed in a positive light. Chosen as their Inaugural Producer Of The Year was Stirrup Ranch Quarter Horses from Vale. Present that evening to accept this new award for the first time were ranch owners LeRoy and Shirley Wetz, their son Dale and daughter June along with her children Rowdy and Sorley and Fiancé Shawn Siebold. The SDQHA is honored to present this award to the Wetz operation – the Producer Of The Year Award will now be an annual part of the SDQHA Convention.

The SDQHYA Youth Division met earlier in the day for their annual General Membership meeting and to elect their new slate of officers for 2016. Leading the SDQHYA for the coming year will be:

• President Allison Longhenry, Garretson

• Vice-President Madelyn Seidel, Belle Fourche

• Secretary Kimberly Johnson, Mud Butte

• Treasurer Riley Christoffer from Sioux Falls.

Reporters East for the group will be Shelby Holmes, Sioux Falls, and Cassandra Townsend, Andover, with Reporters West being Emily Johnson, Black Hawk, and Kendra Johnson, Mud Butte. SDQHYA Advisors for the coming year will be Becky Johnson, Mud Butte, and Dean Townsend from Andover.

Receiving top honors for SDQHYA for 2015 were:

• Youth All-Around All-Ages, Youth All-Around 14-18 and High Point Senior Girl: Kate McCoy / Sir Magic Man, Sioux Falls

• Youth Reserve All-Around All-Ages, Youth All-Around 13 & Under and High Point Junior Girl: Emily Johnson / RPM Machine, Black Hawk

• Novice Youth All-Around: Emily Johnson / RPM Machine, Black Hawk

• Novice Youth Reserve All-Around and Youth Reserve All-Around 13 & Under: Cassandra Townsend, Andover / BMQ Lady Got Game

• Riley Christoffer, Sioux Falls, was the Reserve All-Around 13 & Under with Pretty And Good.

The 2015 SDQHYA Sportsmanship Award for 2015 was presented to Cassandra Townsend from Andover and their 2015 SDQHYA Rookie Of The Year was Claire Longhenry, Garretson, riding A Flower From KC.

Complete Year-End Results can be found at the association website, http://www.sdqha.com

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User