2012 South Dakota Horseperson of the year nominations now being accepted | TSLN.com

2012 South Dakota Horseperson of the year nominations now being accepted

The South Dakota Horse Council, a spokesperson for the South Dakota horse industry, is seeking nominations for their 2012 South Dakota Horseperson of the Year Award. Submissions should be postmarked by Jan. 31.

Past honorees include: Georga Sutton; Jo Waldner; Jen Eide; Chuck Nelson; Frances Loiseau; Raymond W. Sutton, Jr.; Doug Nickel; Gene Carr; Dr. Robert Christensen, DVM; Art Reeves; Danny Bennett; Robert Gregg; Leonard W. Blok; Bob Reed; I.J. Carey; Dr. Hilton M. Briggs, DVM; Wayne Bratcher; Walter Schaefer; Raymond G. Sutton; and Dr. John J. Edenburg, DVM. The list reflects decades of service and horse knowledge.

Criteria for the award is someone who has been instrumental in, or has influenced the South Dakota horse industry. Submitting the number of years of horse influence and involvement, along with accomplishments and contributions is helpful. Additional documents are welcome.

The form for nomination is available to print or mail at the Web site http://www.sdhorsecouncil.com listed as “Horseperson of the Year nomination form.” All submissions welcomed. Mail submission forms to Gene Carr P.O. Box 25 Hayti, SD 57241. The South Dakota Horse Council will present the award at the 2012 South Dakota Horse Fair, March 16-18, in the W.H. Lyons Fairgrounds expo building in Sioux Falls, SD. F

– South Dakota Horse Council