2016 AQHA Executive Committee | TSLN.com

2016 AQHA Executive Committee

Meet your new executive team, which was elected at the recent AQHA convention.

The AQHA Executive Committee is responsible for implementing important decisions made by AQHA members through the Association’s board of directors.

The AQHA Executive Committee was elected at the 2016 AQHA Convention in Las Vegas. This five-person committee is responsible for implementing important decisions made by AQHA members through the Association’s board of directors.

Meet AQHA President Sandy Arledge

Sandy Arledge of Encinitas, California, has been an AQHA director since 1997 and elevated to director emeritus in 2011. She has served on the membership, shows and professional horsemen, judges, stud book and registration, and hall of fame selection committees. Sandy also served on the nominations and credentials committee and served as the committee’s chairwoman in 2010. She currently serves on the American Quarter Horse Foundation Council.

She received her bachelor’s degree from San Diego State University and her Juris Doctor degree from the University of San Diego School of Law.

Sandy is active in the Pacific Coast Quarter Horse Association and California Horse Council. She owned and operated Sandy Arledge Quarter Horses and was a general partner and manager of Far West Farms, a full-service boarding facility in Del Mar, California. She has bred and trained numerous AQHA world champions and reserve world champions. She was named the 2010 Professional’s Choice Professional Horsewoman of the Year and was inducted into the Pacific Quarter Horse Association Hall of Fame in 2015.

When she’s home in California, Sandy enjoys gardening and keeping up with her koi pond in the company of her two Corgis, Zip and Zoom.

Joining Sandy on the AQHA Executive Committee are First Vice President Ralph Seekins of Fairbanks, Alaska; Second Vice President Dr. Jim Heird of College Station, Texas; member Stan Weaver of Big Sandy, Montana; and member Butch Wise of El Reno, Oklahoma. Learn more about these four individuals.

Read more convention coverage, brought to you by The American Quarter Horse Journal at http://www.aqha.com/convention.



2022 Sturgis Beef Throwdown Champions Announced


Pierre, SD – The South Dakota Beef Industry Council (SDBIC) announced the winners of the Sturgis Beef Throwdown competitions during the 82nd Annual City of Sturgis Motorcycle Rally in Sturgis, South Dakota on August 12,…

See more

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User