Auction markets discuss imports, elect officers |

Auction markets discuss imports, elect officers

Cody Volmer with Presho Livestock and his handsome son Dawsen were active bidders during the fundraising auction held at the SDLAMA banquet on April 26, in Deadwood, S.D. Staff photo

The S.D. Livestock Auction Markets Association held their annual meeting on April 26, 2014, in Deadwood, S.D., to discuss issues affecting the cattle industry and specifically the livestock auction market business.

Several speakers educated the group on current topics. State Veterinarian Dr. Dustin Oedekoven provided an update on auction market regulations, the new animal welfare law, gave an Atlas update, and lastly spoke on the current status of Brazilian imports as well as Canadian cattle imports. Dr. Matt Dierson, SDSU Extension Professor and Risk/Business Management Specialist talked about ag economics issues, and Silvia Christen, S.D. Stockgrowers Association joined a representative with the S.D. Cattlemen’s Association to provide an update on the Rancher Relief Fund. Ron Frederick spoke to the individuals about the happenings within the S.D. Beef Industry Council.

Next year the group will meet in Chamberlain, S.D., on May 28-29

The members of the group clarified their opposition to any cattle being imported from any country that does not have FMD free status and a vaccination program in place to deal with that disease.

According to their Executive Directory, Jerry Vogeler, the markets are pleased to have continued representation on several state boards including the Animal Industry Board with Cobbie Magness, Magness Livestock (Huron, S.D.) and the S.D. Brand Board with Scott Vance (Faith Livestock), and the S.D. Beef Industry Council with Wayne Tupper (Kimball Livestock) and Justin Tupper (St. Onge Livestock) and newly elected beef council representative Steve Hellwig (Hub City Livestock).

Newly Elected officers:

President – Brad Otte, Martin Livestock Auction President

Vice President – Thor Roseth, Belle Fourhce Livestock, Philip Livestock

Secretary/Treasurer- Scott Vance, Faith Livestock

New board member – Donovan Lambley, Burke Livestock

New board member – Kevin Larson, Aberdeen Livestock and Britton Livestock

Continuing Board members:

Rick Woelhaff, Glacial Lakes Livestock

Cody Volmer, Presho Livestock and Miller Livestock

Brian Hanson, Ft. Pierre Livestock

The group enjoys meeting together once every year and is collectively an excellent source of market news and information.