Behind the Chutes: Chadron Walters | TSLN.com

Behind the Chutes: Chadron Walters

Age:12

Family:Parents Dennis and Skipper Walters, sibling Oakley Walters (6)

Hometown:Stratton, CO

School:Stratton Middle School

Rodeo events:Flag Racing, Breakaway Calf Roping, Team Roping, Dally Ribbon Roping, Goat Tying

What is your future in the sport of rodeo? Where would you like to see it go? I want to continue through high school, then go to college with it and eventually end up in the pros. I love rodeo!

Recommended Stories For You

What is your ultimate goal as you continue competing in rodeos?To continue bettering myself, and ultimately end up at the NFR, winning a gold buckle title.

Favorite aspect of rodeo: I have made so many friends. We compete in the arena, but outside the arena we are friends. Jesus is my partner in rodeo. He guides and helps me in everything.

Best rodeo memory: Winning my first saddle in the Ribbon Roping with my partner Kodey Hoss in August of 2011 at the Colorado Jr. Rodeo Finals in Salida, CO.

Notable achievements in the sport:I've been blessed to have won personalized tack, checks, and buckles, but the ultimate achievements have been my saddle winnings. My first saddle is listed above. I call 2012 my Triple Crown year. I won the Jr. Boy All-Around saddle at the Kit Carson County Little Britches Rodeo. Then in July at the Little Britches Finals I won the Jr. Boy Flag Racing, which has been a goal of mine since I started rodeo at 5 years of age. Last, but not least, at the Colorado Jr. Rodeo Association Finals in August of 2012 in Burlington I won the year-end Jr. Boys Breakaway saddle. God blessed me with an amazing year!

Tell us about your horses: Smokey is my all-around horse. My dad trained him. He is black and is 20 years old. He is my partner in the ribbon roping, breakaway and flag racing. My mom and my sister ride him on our ranch. His registered name is Me Smokem Quick, and he does just that. He is all heart, and I'm so grateful for him.

I have a mare I ride for the Goat Tying, her name is Fancy. She is an 11-year-old bay mare. She is smaller, so she makes my get-off closer to the ground.

I started Team Roping on my dad's horse Ace. He is grey, and he's also a half brother to my black horse Smokey. My dad trained him, and he has been great for me in the beginning years of team roping.

Right now, for team roping, I ride my aunt's horse. His name is Bullet, he's sorrel, and we are still working on getting to know each other, because of his size, nature, and ways.

I have several horses I really like to ride on our ranch, and I hope to make them great rodeo horses. And, I love ponies… My first horse was a Welsh/Quarter Horse cross. His name is Blue, and my sister rides him now. He has been a great beginner for both of us!

Have you attended any rodeo schools? If so, which ones? I have attended Josh Peek's Breakaway/Tie Down/Goat Tying school. And, Allen Bach's Team Roping school. Both schools have taught me so much, and not just things about rodeo, but also things about life.

Role models/mentors: I really like Tuf Cooper. He was young when he started, he's very good. I just like his attitude. But most of all he honors Jesus, and isn't afraid to show it, and I really like that part.

What do you like to do when you're not competing? I help my dad on the ranch. I like to hunt deer, elk, and pheasants. And, this next year will have the opportunity to hunt bear. I love to play football, basketball and baseball. I like to hang out with my family – immediate and extended family.

What's playing on your iPod/radio? I like to listen to upbeat Christian music. Anything with a good beat, and a good message is what I like!