BLM announces Dakotas RAC appointments |

BLM announces Dakotas RAC appointments

Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell has announced new appointments to the Bureau of Land Management citizen-based Dakotas Resource Advisory Council, which advises the BLM North Dakota and South Dakota Field Offices on public land issues.

“Resource Advisory Councils provide invaluable management advice and expertise to the BLM in Montana and the Dakotas,” said BLM State Director Jamie E. Connell. “I’m pleased to welcome our new members and want to thank them for their commitment and service. Our managers look forward to their ideas and input as we strive toward reaching the common goal of effective, multiple-use and sustained yield land management across our region.”

The RACs are composed of citizens chosen for their expertise in natural resource issues and help the BLM carry out its nation-wide stewardship of 245 million acres of Public Land; the largest land portfolio of any Federal agency. The BLM has established 28 RACs across the West, where most BLM-managed land is located.

Each RAC consists of 10 to 15 members with an interest in public land management, such as conservationists, outdoor recreationists, ranchers, tribal officials, state and local government officials, academics and others.

“The Dakotas RAC covers a broad range of public lands and issues in associated with BLM-administered Federal lands in both North and South Dakota,” said Eastern Montana/Dakotas District Manager Diane Friez, who also serves as the Designated Federal Officer for this RAC. “The Field Managers and I are looking forward to working with the new members, as well as the rest of the RAC, as we exchange information and ideas and collaborate on best management practices.”

The BLM, an agency of the Interior Department, is responsible for managing these various uses – such as outdoor recreation, livestock grazing, mineral development, and energy production – while conserving the land’s natural, historical, and cultural resources. The RACs are composed of members with diverse interests and backgrounds.

The newly appointed members of the Dakotas RAC are:

Brenda Rettinger, New England, N.D. (Energy/Minerals)

John Kain, Spearfish, S.D. (Dispersed Recreation)

Gary Colbath, Rapid City, S.D. (Dispersed Recreation)

Ronald Waterland, Sturgis, S.D. (Archeological/Historical)

Ryan Brunner, Pierre, S.D. (State Agency)

Jay Volk, Mandan, N.D. (Public-at-Large)

Bruce Bowman, Rhame, N.D. (Federal Grazing, reappointment)

–BLM Dakotas/Montana


See more

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User