Broncs for Breakfast: Black Hills Stock Show’s first ranch bronc riding a success |

Broncs for Breakfast: Black Hills Stock Show’s first ranch bronc riding a success

Cowboys from Wyoming, South Dakota, Colorado and Nebraska competed in the Black Hills Stock Show's first ranch bronc ride. Competing for a purse of $6,000, the rules were a little different than traditional bronc riding. Photo by Shootemnscootem Photography

Thirty cowboys traveled to Rapid City, South Dakota, Feb. 3 for the inaugural Broncs for Breakfast in the Kjerstad Event Center at the Black Hills Stock Show.

Spectators dined on perhaps the most traditional of cowboy foods, biscuits, gravy and coffee while bidding on their favorite competitor in a 9 a.m. calcutta before the first horse left the chute at 10. The event differs from the bronc riding featured in most rodeos in that the contestants ride in stock saddles and are not required to keep one hand free; they can hold the horn, cantle, rope, or night latch.

Last year’s Western States Ranch Rodeo Association Bronc Riding Champion and this year’s points leader Justin Quint, of Akron, Colorado, won the purse with an 88-point ride, six points above Hyannis, Nebraska cowboy Ethan Kearns’ 82-point ride. The cowboys were competing for $6,000, paid to the top three finishers in the short-go.

Quint’s reason for repeatedly winning, “I’m scared of the ground,” he said.

Kearn and Quint were joined by seven other cowboys who scored well enough in the long go to qualify for the short round. Long-go points did not carry into the short go.

Klay O’Daniel, of Kadoka, South Dakota, scored an 86-point ride on his Burch Rodeo bucking horse in the long round, placing him first in the long go, which is where cowboys typically see younger, greener horses. The seasoned, more experienced broncs are saved for the short-go. Overall, the stock contractors for the ranch bronc rides try to provide horses that are more unpredictable, less rhythmic than the ones that are popular in traditional rodeo bronc riding events.

Manderson, South Dakota cowboy Leonard Jumping Eagle climbed aboard a bald-faced bay and landed an 85, placing him second in the long go.

Tanner Solberg, of Richland, Montana, and high school student Mitchell Crow, of Oglala, South Dakota, both garnered 84-point performances. Quint and former PRCA bareback bronc rider Cheyenne Seymour, of Gillette, Wyoming, each earned 83 points aboard their Burch bucking horses.

Second-place WSRRA bronc rider Wesley Rosengreen, of Wheatland, Wyoming; Jed Roark, of Saratoga, Wyoming; and Kearns tied to qualify for the short-go with an 82-point ride. These cowboys’ three-way tie turned the intended top eight into top nine to come back for the short go.

O’Daniel placed third below Quint and Kearn with an 81-point performance.

Roark’s second ride earned an 80 from the judges to place fourth and just out of the money.

Rosengreen scored a 79, landing him in fifth, and Seymour a 74 to place sixth.

Crow, Solberg, and Jumping Eagle didn’t make the eight-second buzzer and received no score in the short round.

The producers of the first Broncs for Breakfast event received high praises from several contestants.

“It was an awesome event,” Quint said. “There were good people, the crowd was great, the horses bucked good, and it paid great.”

Several broncs bucked hard enough to trip, fall, or throw themselves down, drawing gasps from the stands.

Roark, who cowboys for the ZN Ranch and has been riding broncs for more than a decade, said the bronc riding events keep improving. This one is no exception.

“It’s totally different. The competition is better, the horses are better, the money is better,” Roark said. “It just keeps changing so much. It’s getting better all the time.”

The event featured a calcutta before, auctioning off each cowboy to earn a payout for each of the buyers of the top-three short-go winners.

Both Roark and Quint said the event is worth coming to again if BHSS produces a second WSRRA Broncs for Breakfast.

Other cowboys who made 8 seconds but didn’t make the short list include: Joe Pavlas, Belvidere, South Dakota, 81 points; Chris Laucomer, Scottsbluff, Nebraska, 78; Perry McNees, Hermosa, South Dakota, 78; Jay Whitehawk, Manderson, South Dakota, 78; Lane Lamphere, 77; Lane Stevenson, Bosler, Wyoming, 75; Craig McKenzie, Murdo, South Dakota, 74; and Paul Kearns, Pierre, South Dakota, 73.

The following cowboys landed no scores for their efforts aboard Burch bucking horses: David Gibons, Pine Ridge, South Dakota; JP Schoeffield, Jelm, Wyoming; Sutton Sandquist, Trail City, South Dakota; Rand Selle, Dixon, Wyoming; Tyson Hauber, Laramie, Wyoming; and Colton Vega; Pollock, South Dakota.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User