Brookings County wins state 4-H horse judging contest |

Brookings County wins state 4-H horse judging contest

The Brookings County 4-H horse judging team took first place in the senior division of the 2008 South Dakota 4-H Horse Judging Contest.

The winning team included Stephanie Howey, Theresa Knutson, Brandi Nissen, and Grady Olson. Spink County’s team earned the runner-up championship, with a team including Sarah Bebo, Cooper Bebo, Kayla Jessen, and Jacklyn Meyer.

The July 23 event featured county teams and individuals from across the state. The Brookings County team also earned a trip to represent South Dakota at the National 4-H Horse Judging Contest, which will be held in conjunction with the 2009 National Western 4-H Roundup in Denver.

Kayla Gerlach of Davison County took first in the senior individual contest. Other individual judging competitors included Kirsten Johnson, Day County, second; Karyn Moen, Roberts County, third; Theresa Knutson, Brookings County, fourth; Grady Olson, Brookings County, fifth.

The Lawrence County team took first place in the junior division judging. The team included Stephanie Johnson, Samantha Sleep, Sydney Sleep and Fehrin Ward. The Deuel County team of Dusty Gorder, Carter Parker and Samuel Watt placed second. Teams from Hutchinson, Brown, and Hughes counties took third through fifth place.

Dusty Gorder of Deuel County won the individual junior division horse judging competition. Other competitors in this division included Fehrin Ward, Lawrence County, second; Stephanie Johnson, Lawrence County, third; Baily Ringgenberg, Brown County, fourth; and Cheyenne Edelman, Hutchinson County, fifth.

In the beginner division, Hutchinson County’s team of Brooklyn Schoenfelder, Blaine Martinez, Whitney Letcher and Keelan Bialas took first place. Second place went to the Spink County team that included Trevor Bohl, Tucker Bohl, Stuart Meyer and Marissa Woodring. Teams from Davison, Roberts, and Beadle counties took third through fifth place.

In the beginner individual judging, KeAnna Ward of Lawrence County took first, while Sentel Johnson, Lawrence County took second. The other finishers in this division included Kendra Currence, Roberts County, third; Keelan Bialas, Hutchinson County, fourth; and Shelby Riggs, Davison County, fifth.

For a complete listing of results, ask for information at your county Extension office.


See more

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User