Cattleman’s Classic Rodeo names scholarship recipients |

Cattleman’s Classic Rodeo names scholarship recipients

The Cattlemen’s Classic Rodeo Committee has announced the recipients of the second annual Cattlemen’s Classic Rodeo scholarship program.

The 2011 award winners are: Whitney Gimpel, sophomore at New Underwood High School; Frankie Smith, senior at Central High School; Caleb Schroth, sophomore at Hot Springs High School; and Prestyn Novak, freshman at Newell High School.

The scholarships award young local athletes to purchase gear, tack, rental of practice stock and to pay for tuition to clinics to improve their skills and abilities.

The Cattleman’s Classic Rodeo Committee, a sub-committee of the Hermosa, SD Fair Board, holds an NRCA/SDRA Amateur Rodeo each fall with profits put towards scholarships for local youth that demonstrate drive and dedication towards the sport of rodeo. These scholarships are available to students, freshman through senior, of Custer, Pennington and Fall River Counties.

Scholarship applications for 2011 will be sent to all rodeo coaches, 4H Club leaders along with family and friends in February with scholarships being awarded by May 1. For more information contact, Tif Taylor,