Colo. woman elected 63rd president of CattleWomen |

Colo. woman elected 63rd president of CattleWomen

Patti Buck, Ignacio, Colorado, has been elected the 63rd President of the American National CattleWomen, Inc. (ANCW) during the organization’s 2014 Annual Meeting in Nashville, Tenn. ANCW is a voice for women who support and promote the beef industry.

Buck and her husband are Colorado cattle ranchers, raising Black Angus cattle. She is also the owner/operator of the Pampered Pets Boarding Kennels and has a successful real estate rental business. Her passion and volunteerism for the beef industry runs deep. She has served as the National Beef Cook-off® committee Chair and as a committee member for ten years, Secretary of the Colorado CattleWomen’s Association for four years, Committee member of the NCBA Nutrition committee for nine years and has served on many committees for her local La Plata Cattlemen’s and Cowbelles association, including the Executive Committee. She’s spent hundreds of hours on beef education and promotion activities and hasn’t missed an annual Cattle Industry Convention or summer conference in the past 12 years.

Fran Hill, fellow ANCW and Colorado CattleWomen member shared “Patti has the heart and desire to do an excellent job for ANCW. She always has personal experiences she can draw on and helps with projects and problem solving. She has great ideas!”

Buck said “I have a huge passion for the beef industry from pasture to plate and volunteering. Victory is only achieved if you value your organization’s volunteers. The world is run by the people who show up. I could stay quietly on my ranch with rose colored glasses on and watch the world go by. Or I can get off the ranch, go around my community, in the classroom, my state and the country and make a difference. We have to be very transparent and tell consumers our stories.”

ANCW’s 2014 Executive Committee members are: President, Patti Buck, Colo.; President-Elect, Melanie Fowle, Calif.; Vice President, Ann Nogan, Pa.; Recording Secretary, Jo Stanko, Colo.; Past President, Barbara Jackson, Ariz.; Region I Director, TBD.; Region II Director, Michelle Boyles, N.C.; Region III Director, Penny Zimmerman, Minn.; Region IV Director, Desta Crawford, Texas; Region V Director, Jeannie Kiehn, Wash.; Region VI Director, Suzanne Menges, Ariz.; Region VII Director, Judy Reece, Neb.; Chair of the Board of Directors, Evelyn Brown, Ala.; and Parliamentarian, Susie Magnuson, Colo. F