Days of ‘76, Black Hills Roundup Rodeos nominated for PRCA awards

First Last
email credit

The Days of ‘76 Rodeo was nominated to receive the PRCA Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year award for 2019.

The Black Hills Roundup Rodeo was nominated in the Medium Outdoor Rodeo category.

Last year was the first time the Days of ‘76 Rodeo fell into the “large outdoor rodeo” category, but it has been honored as the small or medium rodeo of the year 18 times in the past.

“We take it as an honor to be mentioned among those five rodeos,” said Days of ’76 rodeo chairman Terry Caudill in the Rapid City Journal. “Just receiving the nomination is great recognition for us.”

“It’s all volunteer members of our committee that are out there opening the chutes and the gates and doing all the things in the arena that a lot of rodeos contract out, Caudill said. “We’re a working rodeo committee.”

The winners for each category will be announced at the PRCA Awards Banquet at the South Point Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on Dec. 4, according to PRCA.

Below are all of the nominees in all of the categories:

Announcer of the Year

Andy Stewart

Bob Tallman

Randy Corley

Wayne Brooks

Will Rasmussen

Dress Act of the Year

Bobby Kerr – Mustangs riding in car

Haley Ganzel – The Cowgirl Sweethearts – Roman & Trick Riding

Madison MacDonald – Magic in Motion – Trick Riding

Rider Kiesner – Trick roping, gun spinning, whips

Tomas Garcilazo – Horsemanship & Rope Artistry

Clown of the Year

Cody Sosebee

JJ Harrison

John Harrison

Justin Rumford

Keith Isley

Bullfighter of the Year

Cody Emerson

Cody Webster

Clay Heger

Dusty Tuckness

Nathan Jestes

Wacey Munsell

(Note there are 6 due to a tie)

Comedy Act of the Year

Cody Sosebee

Gizmo McCracken

John Harrison

Justin Rumford

Keith Isley

Music Director of the Year

Brandy Edmonds

Chuck Lopeman

Jill Loden Franzen

Josh Hambone Hilton

Randy Stretch Mayer

Photographer of the Year

Dale Miller

Dan Hubbell

James Phifer

Matt Cohen

Robby Freeman

Stock Contracting Firm of the Year

Cervi Championship Rodeo

Frontier Rodeo

Pete Carr Pro Rodeo

Powder River Rodeo

Stace Smith Pro Rodeos

Secretary of the Year

Amanda Sanders

Brenda Crowder

Eva Chadwick

Haley Bridwell

Sandy Gwatney

Timer of the Year

Allison France

Amy Muller

Jayme Pemberton

Shawna Ray

Toby Dunlavy

Pick Up Man of the Year

Jason Bottoms

Matt Twitchell

Shandon Stalls

Shawn Too Tall Calhoun

Tyler Robertson

Will O’Connell

(Please note that there are 6 nominees rather than 5 due to a tie. They will all be on the final ballot)

Small Rodeo of the Year

Blackfoot, ID

Claremore, OK

Coulee City, WA

Huntsville, TX

Yuma, CO

Medium Rodeo of the Year

Amarillo, TX

Belle Fourche, SD

Coleman, TX

Estes Park, CO

Stephenville, TX

Large Indoor Rodeo of the Year

Denver, CO

Fort Worth, TX

Houston, TX

Nampa, ID

San Antonio, TX

Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year

Caldwell, ID

Cheyenne, WY

Deadwood, SD

Dodge City, KS

Pendleton, OR F