Disaster assistance available in 10 Wyo. counties | TSLN.com

Disaster assistance available in 10 Wyo. counties

CHEYENNE, Wyo. – The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced ten counties in Wyoming are eligible for disaster assistance due to drought. Governor Matt Mead received a letter from USDA Secretary Thomas Vilsack designating four counties as primary disaster assistance areas and six counties as contiguous disaster areas.

“For those areas affected by drought, this designation is critical,” Governor Mead said. “It opens the door for federal assistance important to Wyoming.”

The four primary counties are: Big Horn, Johnson, Sheridan and Washakie. The contiguous counties are: Campbell, Convers, Fremont, Hot Springs, Natrona and Park. Qualified producers in these counties can be considered for assistance, including emergency loans, from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA). For more information, please visit your local FSA office or go to: http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.