Drought payments available to producers in western South Dakota | TSLN.com

Drought payments available to producers in western South Dakota

Staff photo.

Producers in Meade County, Lawrence County, and Pennington County South Dakota are eligible to apply for 2016 Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP) benefits on small grain, native pasture, improved pasture, and annual forages intended for grazing.

LFP provides compensation to eligible livestock producers who suffer grazing losses for covered livestock due to drought on privately owned or cash leased land or fire on federally managed land.

County committees can only accept LFP applications after notification is received by the National Office of qualifying drought or if a federal agency prohibits producers from grazing normal permitted livestock on federally managed lands due to qualifying fire.

Eligible livestock producers must complete a CCC-853 and the required supporting documentation no later than January 30, 2017 for 2016 losses.

Additional Information about LFP, including eligible livestock and fire criteria, is available at your local Farm Service Agency office or online at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov.

–Meade County FSA