Hyde County 4-H livestock judging team wins at state | TSLN.com

Hyde County 4-H livestock judging team wins at state

Hyde County 4-H’ers won the senior division of the 2008 4-H South Dakota Livestock Judging Contest.

Twenty senior teams, 23 junior teams, and 15 beginner teams took part in the July 25 livestock judging contest. The winning team included Cally Thomas, Daniel Weidenbach, Lane Peterson and Tate Husted.

Hyde County’s team will represent South Dakota at the Nov. 18 National 4-H Livestock Judging Contest in Louisville, KY. The team also competed Sept. 27 at the Ak-Sar-Ben 4-H Youth Livestock Exposition in Omaha, NE.

Tripp County’s Wyatt DeJong took first in the senior individual judging for his second straight year.

The Brule County senior judging team took second place. The team included Taylor Geppert, Tate Glaus, Shelby Kroupa and Ann Kroupa. This team will represent South Dakota at the American Royal 4-H Livestock Judging Contest.

While DeJong was named senior overall judging champion, Taylor Geppert of Brule County placed second. Cally Thomas of Hyde County took third place while Tyler Grussing of Brule County and Daniel Weidenbach of Hyde County placed fourth and fifth in senior judging.

In the team judging junior division, Hughes County took first place. The team included Abbie Ramsey, Emily Ketteler, Trey Maier and Caitlin Ketteler. Spink County’s team of Tyler Masat, Jerritt Kelsey, Garrett Masat, and Cooper Gordon placed second. Teams from Brule, Hand, and Davison counties placed third through fifth.

Individual judges honored in the junior contest included first place finisher Shannon Duxbury of Hand County. Preston O’Day of Aurora County placed second while Kyler Johnson of Minnehaha County was third. Blaine Geppert of Brule County and Abbie Ramsey of Hughes County finished fourth and fifth.

In the beginner judging contest, Beadle County’s team of Jeremiah Johnson, Katie Schoenfelder, Jacob Sievers and Ethan DeVries took first place. Brown County placed second with a team of Dalton Podoll, Adrianne Schaunaman, Brooke Skoglund and Carly Wheeting. Teams from Hyde, Miner and Turner counties placed third through fifth.

Carly Wheeting of Brown County took first place in individual judging in the beginner division. Jeremiah Johnson of Beadle County was second, while Noah Wicks of Lake County, Dalton Tolzin of Kingsbury County, and Jacob Sievers of Beadle County finished third through fifth.

A complete listing of results is available at your county Extension office.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User