Jordan Taylor | TSLN.com

Jordan Taylor

Age: 15

Family: My dad, who rodeoed as a kid and even went to the finals a couple of times in bronc riding, is my mentor. He works with me every day and drives me to all the rodeos. My mom takes care of everything at home and supports my competition in every way. My older sister, Rachel, competed in rodeo through high school, and now is a therapist working with kids and horses.

Hometown: Logandale, NV, a rural town in southern Nevada.

School: I primarily homeschool, but take two classes at the local middle school. My favorite subjects are science and math.

Rodeo events: Breakaway, team roping, ribbon roping, chute dogging, goat tying. I am getting ready this year for tie-down calf roping in the future.

What is your future in the sport of rodeo? Where would you like to see it go? I would love to make it to the National Finals Rodeo someday, maybe in team roping or calf roping. I want to compete on a college team, and go pro at some point.

Recommended Stories For You

Favorite aspect of rodeo: If I had to pick just one aspect of rodeo as a favorite, it would just be the competition, but as a whole, I like to go out there, do my best, and have fun while I'm doing it.

Best rodeo memory: My best memory is winning the goat-tying world championship at the 2012 Little Britches National Finals Rodeo (NFLBR).

Notable achievements in the sport: I was 2011 Nevada State Rookie of the Year in junior high rodeo, and won Nevada State all-around for both 2011 and 2012, and as noted above, Junior Boys' World Champion in Goat Tying at NFLBR in 2012.

Tell us about your horses: I am really fortunate to have three great horses, Sonny, Spook, and Bear. Sonny was a ranch horse in Arizona before we bought him. He's the horse that really helped me learn to ride and rope and the horse I won the World Championship in goat tying on. I've also won many other events with him such as the NFLBR Average Championship in Flag Racing. He is a palomino dun, maybe 24 or 25 years old.

Spook is a black quarter horse, around 13 years old. I use him in breakaway, tie-down calf roping, and ribbon roping. He learns super-fast and is always looking to please. Sadly, I lost my first head horse, Ethel, to lymphoma a few months ago, and just bought a big gelding named Bear. The day we bought him, I won a saddle in a team roping competition, so we got off to a good start together.

Role models/mentors: My Dad, mostly. I'm also grateful for a bunch of Nevada horse people who've coached or supported me in different ways.

What do you like to do when you're not competing? When I'm not competing or practicing, I love to ride 4-wheelers and go shooting. I'm an outdoors person!

What's playing on your iPod/radio? Mainly country, some hip hop and rock.