Kansas auction market owner to lead LMA | TSLN.com

Kansas auction market owner to lead LMA

Dan Harris, owner of Holton Livestock Exchange in Holton, Kan., has been elected president of the Livestock Marketing Association (LMA). In this role, he will spend two years leading the nation’s largest membership organization representing more than 800 local livestock auction markets and allied businesses.

Harris is no stranger to having a microphone in his hand; but, as he told the LMA membership at annual convention, it is usually because he is selling something.

“I grew up in the livestock marketing business,” Harris says. “My father helped build our facility in 1951, and I’ve been coming along to the market ever since I was knee high to him. At a young age, I decided that I wanted to follow his footsteps to be a livestock auctioneer and in the marketing business.”

Harris sees overregulation as a concern that LMA must continue addressing. The association will continue working to prevent new regulations that would overly burden markets or livestock owners. At the same time LMA will seek updates to bring Grain Inspection Packers and Stockyards Administration requirements more in line with the 21st century businesses today rather than the early 1900’s businesses the law was written to regulate.

In addition to owning Holton Livestock Exchange, Harris is a member of the Kansas Beef Council Executive Committee. He and his wife, Lesley, have three sons, Blake, Garrett, and Tyler.

LMA immediate past president Tim Starks of Cherokee, Okla. will now become Chairman of the Board and Jerry Etheridge of Montgomery, Ala. has been elected Vice President. Regional Directors, Mark Barnett, Guthrie, Ky. and Tom Frey, Creston, Iowa, joined the Executive Committee.

Directors from the Eastern Region: Joe Goggins, Billings, Mont.; Jake Parnell, Galt, Calif.; and Lex Madden, Torrington, Wyo. Goggins and Parnell will serve 1-year terms; Madden will serve a 2-year term.

Directors from the Midwestern Region: Tom Frey, Creston, Iowa; Clay Myers, Texhoma, Okla., and Larry Schnell, Dickinson, N.D. Frey and Myers will serve a one-year term; Schnell will serve a 2-year term.

Directors from the Eastern Region: Mark Barnett, Guthrie, Ky.; Brian Glick, Bellville, Pa.; and Dean Hanson, Lewisburg, W.Va. Barnett will serve a 1-year term; Glick and Hanson will serve 2-year terms.

–Livestock Marketing Association