Larry Mahan to be honored as Legend of ProRodeo |

Larry Mahan to be honored as Legend of ProRodeo

COLORADO SPRINGS – Larry Mahan, who earned six all-around gold buckles and eight world championships overall, will be presented with the Legend of ProRodeo Award during the third annual Wrangler Gold Buckle Gala at 6 p.m. (PT) Nov. 29 at the South Point Hotel & Casino’s Grand Ballroom in Las Vegas.

The Legend of ProRodeo Award has been given annually since 2006 to a PRCA member for “outstanding leadership in the arena, in the home and in the community.” The previous winners were Jake Barnes, Jim Shoulders, Clem McSpadden and Harry Vold.

Mahan distinguished himself as the best roughstock cowboy of his era, winning two bull riding world championships (1965, 1967) and qualifying for the National Finals Rodeo in all three roughtstock events in the same year a record seven times. He was inducted into the ProRodeo Hall of Fame in 1979 as part of the inaugural class.

Ken Stonecipher and the Wooden Nickel Band will be the entertainment at the Wrangler Gold Buckle Gala, a benefit for the ProRodeo Hall of Fame.

There will be silent and live auctions as part of the evening’s festivities.

Tickets are $100 and are available now through the ProRodeo Hall of Fame. For information, call 719-528-4748 or 719-528-4714.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User