Livestock Forage Disaster Program expanded to 35 counties in Montana |

Livestock Forage Disaster Program expanded to 35 counties in Montana

FSA’s Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP) provides compensation to eligible livestock producers who suffer grazing losses for covered livestock due to drought on privately owned or cash leased land, or fire on federally managed land.

Livestock producers in 35 Montana counties are eligible to apply for 2017 LFP benefits on small grain, native pasture, improved pasture, annual ryegrass, forage sorghum that is produced on dryland acres and used for grazing. Irrigated acres used for grazing or aftermath grazing are not eligible under this program. Eligible livestock include alpacas, beef cattle, buffalo, beefalo, dairy cattle, deer, elk, emus, equine, goats, llamas, reindeer or sheep that have been or would have been grazing the eligible grazing land or pastureland during the normal grazing period.

County committees can only accept LFP applications after notification is received by the National Office of a qualifying drought or if a federal agency prohibits producers from grazing normal permitted livestock on federally managed lands due to qualifying fire.

As of Sept. 7, 2017, the following 35 Montana counties met the drought criteria on the U.S. Drought Monitor and are eligible for the 2017 LFP Program: Big Horn, Blaine, Broadwater, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Jefferson, Judith Basin, Lewis and Clark, Liberty, McCone, Meagher, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Teton, Treasure, Valley, Wheatland, Wibaux and Yellowstone.

1 monthly LFP payment: Big Horn

3 monthly LFP payments: Broadwater, Carter, Cascade, Golden Valley, Jefferson, Judith Basin, Lewis and Clark, Liberty, Meagher, Powder River, Teton and Wheatland

4 monthly LFP payments: Chouteau, Dawson, Fallon, Hill, Musselshell, Richland, Treasure, Wibaux and Yellowstone

5 monthly LFP payments: Blaine, Custer, Daniels, Fergus, Garfield, McCone, Petroleum, Phillips, Prairie, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan and Valley.

Producers with grazing land physically located in one of the 35 eligible LFP counties should contact their local FSA office to schedule an appointment to begin the application process.

Eligible livestock producers must complete a CCC-853 and the required supporting documentation no later than Jan. 30, 2018, for 2017 losses. Note that 2017 acreage reports are required to be filed for all eligible land no later than the final reporting date of Nov. 15, 2017. Acreage reports filed after that date will not be accepted which will result in ineligibility for the 2017 LFP program. Required supporting documents may include information related to grazing leases or federal grazing permits, contract grower agreements, documentation to support livestock inventory and more.

Additional Information about LFP, including eligible livestock and fire criteria, is available at your local FSA office or online at

–Montana FSA