Montana cowboys win events at Last Chance Stampede |

Montana cowboys win events at Last Chance Stampede

Steer wrestlers from Helena and Bozeman and a bull rider from West Glacier collected event titles in Helena at the PRCA Last Chance Stampede on July 29-31.

Taylor Nahrgang, the 2010 winner of the steer wrestling championship at the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association Finals at Casper, WY, tied with Ty Erickson of Helena with 3.9-second times to win the doggin’ title and checks for $1,981 apiece. Nahrgang graduated this May from the University of Montana Western and is on the staff at Copper Spring Ranch of Bozeman when he is not on the ProRodeo trail.

Erickson, entering his sophomore year at Montana State University on the rodeo team, was also a contestant at the CNFR.

The event turned out well for two other Montana steer wrestlers. Josh Granell of Havre and Luke Gee of Stanford each corralled 4.0-second times to tie for second in the standings.

In the bull riding, Beau Hill, a PBR world qualifier from West Glacier, MT, marked an 82 on a Kesler Championships Rodeos bull to collect a winning check of $2,554. To complete the Montana cowboys’ domination, Tyler Dellen of Bozeman marked an 80 for second place and Brett Crump of Great Falls marked a 78 for third.

Last Chance Stampede results:

Bareback: 1. Ryan Gray, Cheney, WA, 89, $2,280; 2. Cody Demers, Kimberly, ID, 86, $1,748; 2. Bobby Mote, Culver, OR, 84, $1,292.

Steer wrestling: 1. (tie) Ty Erickson, Helena, and Taylor Nahrgang, Bozeman, 3.9, $1,981 each. 3. (tie) Josh Granell, Havre, and Luke Gee, Stanford, 4.0, $1,428.

Tie-down roping: 1. Clint Cooper, Decatur, TX, 7.8, $2,206; 2. Trent Creager, Stillwater, OK, 8.0, $1,919; 3. Justin Viles, Cody, WY, 8.4, $1,631.

Team roping: 1. David Keys, Stephensville, TX and Brad Culpepper, Ashburn, GA, 4.1, $3,113 each. 2. Jay Adams and Austin Adams, Logandale, NV, 4.8, $2,785; 3. Cody Tew, Harlowton, and John Robertson, Augusta, 5.1, $2,458.

Saddle bronc: 1. Buck Ryan, Blackfoot, ID, 83, $2,200; 2. Todd Herzog, Penhold, Alberta, 82, $1,686; 3. James Irish, Lewistown, 80, $1,246.

Barrel racing: 1. Jana Isaac, White Swans, WA, 17.39, $2,112; 2. Brenda Mays, 17.68, $1,795; 3. Rayna Rice, 17.71, $1,478; 4. Morgan Knudsen, 17.76, $1,1,276.

Bull riding: 1. Beau Hill, West Glacier, 82, $2,554; 2. Tyler Dellen, Bozeman, 80, $2,002; 3. Brett Crump, Great Falls, 78, $1,529.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User