MT Farm Bureau members selected for nat’l committees |

MT Farm Bureau members selected for nat’l committees

Montana members chosen to serve on Issues Advisory Committees

Turk Stovall, Billings, cattle rancher—Animal Care

Gary Heibertshausen, Alzada, sheep rancher —Environmental Regulations

Bruce Wright, Bozeman, small grains farmer—Farm Policy

Tom DePuydt, Saco, small grain and pulse farmer—Federal Lands

Larry Switzer, Richey, cattle rancher—Market Structures

Montana Farm Bureau members selected for national issues advisory committees

Five Montana Farm Bureau members have been selected to serve on the American Farm Bureau Issues Advisory Committees (IAC). This is the second year for the IAC programs which have been changed from the previous commodity committees. The IAC was formed so membership would have substantial input in refining and implementing AFBF policy objectives. From talking with the media to helping develop comments on regulations, and from giving testimony at Congressional hearings to providing direct input to the resolutions process, the IAC committee members were very active this past year.

The committees will meet Feb. 22, 2016, at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C. A general session for all committee members will examine the outlook for the general and agricultural economies as well American Farm Bureau’s efforts toward agricultural advocacy with consumers and an opportunity meet with the incoming American Farm Bureau president.

–Montana Farm Bureau