N.D. 4-Hers Compete in Crop Judging Contest | TSLN.com

N.D. 4-Hers Compete in Crop Judging Contest

The Foster County team placed first in the senior division of the state 4-H crop judging contest held recently at the North Dakota Winter Show in Valley City.

The team members are Casey Mack, Jacey Retzlaff and Justin Lee.

The crop judging contest consists of classes of four pans each of hard red spring wheat, barley and oats. Participants evaluate and rank them for seed value. Participants also identify insects; crop and weed plants; seeds; and machinery, equipment and agronomy disorders.

Counties could enter any number of 4-H participants in each division of the contest. The top three scores from the members of the county team are added to make a team score.

The second-place team in the senior division is from Morton County. Team members are Bryce Peters, Haley Geiger, Bailey Schlosser and Shandra Getzlaff.

The team from Eddy County placed third. Team members are Dylan Rue, Wilson Howard and Tyler Lee.

Mack placed first high individual in the senior division.

In the junior division, the team from Walsh County placed first. Team members are Lilly Bina, Connor Hodek, Zach Zikmund, Andrew Myrdal and Justin Jurgens.

The second-place team is from Eddy and LaMoure counties. Members are Zachary Lahlum, Alex Lahlum and Elizabeth Lee.

The Mountrail County team placed third. Members are Andrew Haakenson, Tyson Odermann, Alyssa Haakenson, Colter Sanderson, Izabeija Malnourie and Dylan Locken.

Zachary Lahlum was high individual in the junior division.

In the open division, Chase Pederson of Carrington was high individual.

Awards for the contest were sponsored by the Valley City Lions Club, North Dakota Winter Show, and North Dakota Crop Improvement and Seed Association through their support of the North Dakota 4-H Foundation.

–NDSU Extension

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


USDA vaccine rate lowest, Biden delays discipline


Only 86% of Agriculture Department employees have been vaccinated against COVID-19, the lowest of any major federal agency, but President Biden announced today that federal employees who have not gotten the vaccine will not be…

See more