NDSU athletes to be awarded scholarships

The 43rd annual Harvest Bowl festivities begin Friday, Nov. 4.

Scholarships will be awarded to 16 North Dakota State University athletes during this year’s Harvest Bowl program on Nov. 4-5.

Harvest Bowl scholarship awardees, sport, hometown and major are:

Harvest Bowl Scholarship – Bo Liekhus, football, Plattsmouth, Neb., criminal justice

Harvest Bowl Scholarship in honor of Robert Johansen – Kayla Huhnerkoch, track and field, Redwood Falls, Minn., exercise science

Patrick Benedict Memorial Harvest Bowl Scholarship – Dan Stibral, wrestling, Tabor, S.D., agricultural and biosystems engineering

Gene Dahl Scholarship – Landon Lechler, football, Beach, general agriculture

Scott and Ann Dau Family Scholarship – Derrek Tu Tuszka, football, Warner, S.D., crop and weed sciences

John and Kay Dean Harvest Bowl Scholarship – Tanner Volson, football, Balfour, construction managment

Gooseneck Implement/Green Iron Equipment Harvest Bowl Scholarship – Cordell Volson, football, Balfour, construction management

Myron and Muriel Johnsrud Harvest Bowl Endowment – Jeff Illies, football, Lidgerwood, university studies

LeVon Kirkeide, Patricia Kirkeide–Hagemeister and Friends Harvest Bowl Scholarship – Kelsey Laufenberg, track and field, Alice, zoology

Darrell Larson Family Scholarship – Jarrod Tuszka, football, Warner, S.D., university studies

Bob Lauf Memorial Scholarship – Bailey Retzlaff, track and field, Carrington, agriculture education

Ron and Karen Offutt Scholarship – Cole Davis, football, Kearney, Mont., agribusiness and applied economics

Red River Commodities Scholarship – Zach Mayo, baseball, Mather, Manitoba, crop and weed sciences

Titan Machinery Scholarship – Cordell Eaton, wrestling, Long Grove, Iowa, agricultural and biosystems engineering

#64 Bob Yaggie and #58 Bruce Yaggie Father-Son Football Scholarship – Luke Bacon, football, Granville, university studies

Bob and Darlene Yaggie Football Scholarship – Colin Connor, football, Mineral Point, Wis., physical education

The NDSU Harvest Bowl program also recognizes the work of agriculturists in 53 counties in North Dakota and 10 counties in western Minnesota.

A special agribusiness award goes to an individual who has a distinguished career in agriculture and business. This year’s award recipient is David Berg, recently retired president and chief executive officer of American Crystal Sugar Co.

The 43rd annual Harvest Bowl festivities begin Friday, Nov. 4, at the Fargo Ramada Plaza Suites with a dinner and awards ceremony. On Saturday, honorees will attend the Harvest Bowl football game between NDSU and Western Illinois.

For information on Harvest Bowl and to register, visit the NDSU Foundation and Alumni Association website at; call the NDSU alumni office toll-free at 800-279-8971 or locally at 701 231-6800, or email

–NDSU Extension