Nebraska Cattlemen announce Young Cattlemen’s class |

Nebraska Cattlemen announce Young Cattlemen’s class

Nebraska Cattlemen announced the 2017 class of the Young Cattlemen’s Conference (YCC). YCC nominees were accepted from throughout the state and selected by committee to participate in the two-year leadership program. Each class is limited to ten individuals.

The Class of 2017 includes:

Kate Benjamin, Lakeside

Tabbatha Cornelius, Ainsworth

Troy Carruthers, Kimball

Steven Fish, Norfolk

Alex Heine, Lincoln

Jacob Hopwood, Holdrege

Erin Laborie, Beaver City

Andy Reigle, Humphrey

Sara Van Newkirk, Oshkosh

Heath Weichel, Lexington

“The next generation of Nebraska Cattlemen will ensure Nebraska remains the global epicenter of the beef industry,” said NC Executive Vice President Pete McClymont. “Our Young Cattlemen’s Conference delivers a strong foundation of industry knowledge and provides the tools these producers need to build a successful future.”

The goal of the Young Cattlemen’s Conference is to expose young and emerging leaders to a variety of areas of the beef industry and provide them with necessary leadership tools. During the two-year program, YCC members are provided training on professional communication, given the opportunity to tour multiple Nebraska-based agriculture production facilities and learn to navigate state agencies and legislative processes.

All of this could not happen without generous sponsorship from Farm Credit Services of America, DuPont Pioneer and Nebraska Cattlemen Foundation.

–Nebraska Cattlemen’s Association