Nebraska Cattlemen members meet; 2011 leadership elected |

Nebraska Cattlemen members meet; 2011 leadership elected

The 2010 Nebraska Cattlemen Convention held Dec. 8-10 in Kearney, was well attended with over 500 individuals in attendance. Nebraska Cattlemen members and guests enjoyed a great line-up of speakers and discussed numerous industry issues. Nebraska Cattlemen would like to thank all the sponsors who helped make this year’s convention a success.

Barry Flinchbaugh, Agricultural Economist from Kansas State University, spoke at the opening season about the economic past, present and future. He was joined by Governor Dave Heineman, who spoke about agriculture and its influence on the state of Nebraska. Top Hand Club and the retiring Board of Directors were recognized for their commitment and dedication to Nebraska Cattlemen.

The banquet, held on Thursday, Dec. 9, was led by the Masters of Ceremonies Tom Hansen, Nebraska State Senator (District 42). The members had the honor of listening to Chuck Schroeder, Executive Director of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City, OK, talk about traditions in the beef industry and showed beautiful images of western art. Members of the Kalkowski Family Ranch were in attendance as the 2010 Leopold Conservation Award winners. Nebraska Cattlemen Industry Service Award winners, Don Adams and Bill’s Volume Sales, Inc., along with Nebraska Cattlemen Hall of Fame Inductee Roger Wehrbein, were recognized.

On Friday, Dec. 10, Nevil Speer, Agricultural Economist from Western Kentucky University, spoke at the annual business meeting about moving forward in this economy. Proceeding Nevil was Chris Calkins, Meat Specialist from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, who brought to light consumer behaviors for source-verified beef.

The Cow/Calf, Seedstock, Farmer Stockman and Feedlot Councils met and discussed various issues relating to the beef industry. Speakers entertained topics such as estate tax, how to talk to friends and adversaries, feedlot labor survey and heifer development.

Nebraska Cattlemen membership elected leadership for 2011. Nebraska Cattlemen’s new President is Chuck Folken from Leigh. Jim Ramm of Atkinson is President-Elect and Dale Spencer of Brewster is Vice President. “The convention this year was full of knowledgeable speakers who sparked constructive conversations by the membership. As leadership, we look forward to serving Nebraska Cattlemen in 2011,” stated Folken.


See more