Nitrate Quick Test trainings set for South Dakota | TSLN.com

Nitrate Quick Test trainings set for South Dakota

Weather patterns could suggest that this might be a dry year similar to the one we experienced in 2012. With this in mindKarla Hernandez, SDSU Extension Forages Field Specialist said cattle producers need to begin thinking about the risk of nitrates in feed supplies and how it will affect their livestock operations.

"It is well known that certain plants are nitrate accumulators and can contain toxic levels of nitrate when consumed by cattle and sheep. One of the results of nitrates is reduction in animal performance, resulting in death of some animals," Hernandez said. "Performing a Nitrate Quick Test will help producers to determine whether they have problems with nitrates and if they are in risk and how further proceed with laboratory analysis if they are needed."

Quick Test Training

SDSU Extension will be hosting Nitrate Quick Test Recertification and New Certification Trainings in May.

If you were not trained to perform the Nitrate Quick Test in 2014, you will need to attend one of the 2-hour New Certification Trainings.

If you were trained in April 2014, you can attend one of the recertification sessions, which is 1 hour in length. Both the New Certification and Recertification will be offered twice to give more people an opportunity to participate.

Recommended Stories For You

Training Details

The trainings will be held May 19 and 22 at eight locations across the state.

On May 19, all one-hour Recertification classes will begin at 1 p.m. (MDT) and 2 p.m. (CDT). On May 22 all one-hour Recertification classes will begin at 8:30 a.m. (MDT) and 9:30 a.m. (CDT).

The 2-hour New Certification classes on May 19 will begin at 2 p.m. (MDT) and 3 p.m. (CDT). The 2-hour New Certification classes on May 22 begin at 9:30 a.m. (MDT) 10:30 a.m. (CDT).

Pre-Registration Deadline is May 13, 2015

Pre-registration is required by May 13, 2015 to ensure each location has adequate supplies. Registration for the New Certification Training is $35. It will cover the supplies needed to do the testing, as well as the test solution. Recertification registration is $20 and is required on an annual basis. To register call 605.882.5140.

Training Locations

SDSU Extension Aberdeen Regional Center

13 Second Ave. SE | Aberdeen, SD 57401

Office: 605.626.2870

SDSU Extension Lemmon Regional Center

408 Eighth St. W. | Lemmon, SD 57638

Office: 605.374.4177

SDSU Extension Mitchell Regional Center

1800 E. Spruce St. | Mitchell, SD 57301

Office: 605.995.7378

SDSU Extension Pierre Regional Center

412 W. Missouri Ave. | Pierre, SD 57501

Office: 605.773.8120

SDSU Extension Rapid City Regional Center

1530 Samco Road

Rapid City, SD 57702

Office: 605.394.1722

SDSU Extension Sioux Falls Regional Center

2001 E. Eighth St. | Sioux Falls, SD 57103

Office: 605.782.3290

SDSU Extension Watertown Regional Center

1910 W. Kemp Ave. | Watertown, SD 57201

Office: 605.882.5140

SDSU Extension Winner Regional Center

325 S. Monroe St. | P.O. Box 270 | Winner, SD 57580

Office: 605.842.1267

–SDSU Extension