Utah cowboy Allen Boore claims HOTR championship | TSLN.com

Utah cowboy Allen Boore claims HOTR championship

Utah cowboy Allen Boore took home the championship title.

HOTR Bronc Riders 2017

1. Jesse Bail, Camp Crook, South Dakota

2. Jade Blackwell, Rapid City, South Dakota

3. Allen Boore, Axtell, Utah

4. CoBurn Bradshaw, Beaver, Utah

5. Tyler Corrington, Hastings, Neb.

6. Jacobs Crawley, Boerne, Texas

7. Sterling Crawley, Stephenville, Texas

8. Troy Crowser, Whitewood, South Dakota

9. Cody DeMoss, Heflin, Louisiana

10. Heith DeMoss, Heflin, Louisiana

11. Isaac Diaz, Desdemona, Texas

12. Clay Elliott, Nanton, Alberta

13. JJ Elshere, Hereford, South Dakota

14. Shorty Garrett, Eagle Butte, South Dakota

15. Curtis Garton, Kaitaia, New Zealand

16. Layton Green, Meeting Creek, Alberta

17. Chet Johnson, Douglas, Wyoming

18. Ty Manke, Hermosa, South Dakota

19. Taos Muncy, Corona, New Mexico

20. Audy Reed, Spearman, Texas

21. Chuck Schmidt, Keldron, South Dakota

22. Taygen Schuelke, Newell, South Dakota

23. Tyrell J. Smith, Sand Coulee, Montana

24. Joe Sonnier III, New Iberia, Louisiana

25. Zeke Thurston, Big Valley, Alberta

26. Jake Watson, Hudsons Hope, British Columbia

27. Cody Wright, Milford, Utah

28. Jake Wright, Milford, Utah

29. Jesse Wright, Milford, Utah

30. Rusty Wright, Milford, Utah

31. Ryder Wright, Milford, Utah

32. Spencer Wright, Milford, Utah

Sentinel Butte, N.D. — The Champions Ride Saddle Bronc Match celebrated its 61st anniversary this year. Utah cowboy Allen Boore claimed the championship during the Aug. 5 event near Sentinel Butte, N.D.

Short round

These 12 cowboys made the short round and were auctioned off in the calcutta before making their second ride:

JJ Elshere

Ryder Wright

Tyler Corrington

Jake Wright

Allen Boore

Jade Blackwell

Chet Johnson

Jacobs Crawley

Zeke Thurston

Taos Muncy

Spencer Wright

Cody DeMoss.


Last year was the first year HOTR Champion Allen Boore qualified for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.

This year, besides the HOTR bronc match, he also won the Big Sky ProRodeo Roundup in Great Falls and was named co-champion of the Clovis, California rodeo.

Boore twice qualified for the CNFR in saddle bronc and was the NIRA Central Plains Region saddle bronc riding champion in 2013, riding for Oklahoma Panhandle State University.


For six decades, the HOTR Match has been a premier saddle bronc competition. This event has a history of promoting the top-rated cowboys and broncs. Past champions are a ‘who’s who’ in saddle bronc riding, including Jim Tescher, Alvin Nelson, Larry Mahan, Butch Small, Lewis Field, Brad Gjermundson, Robert Etbauer, Dan Mortensen, Ty Murray, Rod Hay, Cody Wright and Wade Sundell. Last year, Zeke Thurston won the Champions Ride. He went on to win the World Championship at the 2016 Wrangler National Finals in Las Vegas.

The Match is celebrating its third year as a sanctioned “extreme bronc riding” event by the PRCA. Thirty-two cowboys ride a bronc and compete in the long-go round. The top 12 scores advance to the short-round to compete for the title and money. The prize money that a cowboy wins counts towards their earnings to qualify for the Wrangler National Finals.

The Champions Ride not only has a rich history of cowboys but also as a major fundraiser for the organization Home On The Range. HOTR is a nonprofit organization which helps abused, neglected and traumatized teenage boys and girls. In 1957, the fledging HOTR relied heavily upon donations to care for the children. A group of cowboys got together to create the Match of Champions to raise money for Home On The Range. 61 years later, this is still the main intent of the Champions Ride. F

–Home on the Range

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User