ProRodeo Hall of Fame welcomes newest class |

ProRodeo Hall of Fame welcomes newest class

Photo courtesy PRCAFront row, left to right: Toby Tooke (great grandson of Montana stock contractor Feeke Tooke); South Dakota saddle bronc rider Tom Reeves; and South Dakota all-around cowboy Paul Tierney.
2008 ProRodeo Hall of Fame Induction class |

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO – The ProRodeo Hall of Fame celebrated the colorful careers of 10 rodeo legends July 12 at the 2008 induction ceremonies at the headquarters of the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA). The Class of 2008 included 1979 World Tie-Down Roping Champion and 1980 World Champion All-Around Cowboy Paul Tierney; 1993 and 1995 World Champion Team Roper Bobby Hurley; the late 1987-88 World Champion Steer Roper Shaun Burchett; 2001 World Champion Saddle Bronc Rider Tom Reeves; the late legendary stock contractor Feek Tooke; longtime rodeo entertainers Leon and Vicki Adams; famed bucking horse Trails End; competitor, pickup man and judge Duane Howard; and the late Buddy Lytle, a longtime professional judge.

The ProRodeo Hall of Fame Selection Committee voted unanimously to officially induct the 16 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association rodeo committees that had been previously honored with special recognition by the PRCA and ProRodeo Hall of Fame.

The rodeo committees inducted were: the Buffalo Bill Rodeo (North Platte, NE); the Calgary (Alberta) Stampede; California Rodeo Salinas; Cheyenne (WY) Frontier Days; the Dodge National Circuit Finals Rodeo (Pocatello, ID); the Grand National Rodeo, Horse and Stock Show (San Francisco); the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo; La Fiesta de los Vaqueros (Tucson, AZ); the National Western Stock Show and Rodeo (Denver); the Pendleton (OR) Round-Up; the Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo (Colorado Springs, CO); the Reno (NV) Rodeo; the San Antonio Stock Show and Rodeo; the Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show (Fort Worth, TX); the West of the Pecos (TX) Rodeo; and the Prescott (AZ) Frontier Days – the World’s Oldest Rodeo.

A crowd of more than 1,000 witnessed the ceremony at the ProRodeo Hall of Fame, which inducted its first class in 1979 and is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year.


See more

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User