S.D. ranchers appointed to Cattlemen’s Beef Board

WASHINGTON, Dec. 22, 2015 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed 37 members to the Cattlemens Beef Promotion and Research Board. Thirty-six appointees will serve 3-year terms and one appointee will serve a 1-year term.

South Dakotans appointed to the board are Eric J. Sumption, Frederick, and Tammy Basel, Union Center. They are filling positions previously held by Linda Gilbert of Buffalo, and Danni Beer of Keldron, who both completed two, three year terms. Other South Dakotans currently serving on the CBB representing South Dakota are Vaughn Meyer, Reva and Gary Sharp, Bath.

According to a press release from USDA, the 100-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985 and are responsible for oversight and management of the Beef Check-off funds. The Secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy, and importers-certified organizations. The board contracts with established national, non-profit, industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing, and producer communications.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded and were authorized by Congress in 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of more than 20 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency, and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers in other states are: Mary Jo Rideout, Red Rock, Ariz.; Hugh Sanburg, Eckert, Colo.; Cindy Greiman, Garner, Iowa; Stephanie Dykshorn, Ireton, Iowa; DJ Edwards, Hamilton, Kan.; Randall W. Debler, Alma, Kan.; Amelia Kent, Slaughter, La.; Ken Blight, Albion, Mich.; Theodore Daniel Reichmann, Villard, Minn.; Larry Jefcoat, Soso, Miss.; David B. Hutsell, Hartville, Mo.; Joan Ruskamp, Dodge, Neb.; Kristy Lage, Sutherland, Neb.; Bill King, Moriarty, N.M.; Robert Crabb, Jr., Siler City, N.C.; Brett Morris, Ninnekah, Okla.; Larry Cunningham, Spring City, Tenn.; Charlie Price, Oakwood, Texas; Charlie Risinger, Terrell, Texas; Dave Edmiston, Brady, Texas; Don Smith, Sulphur Springs, Texas; Wallace J. Schulthess,Woodruff, Utah; Keith York, Lake Geneva, Wis.; Bob Mitchell, Wauzeka, Wis.; Irvin J. Petsch, Meriden, Wyo.; Jack Parent, Swanton, Vt.; William L. McLean (1-year term), Coulee City, Wash.; C.W. Senn, Jr., York, S.C.; Melvin Medeiros, Laton, Calif.; Ruby L. Uhart, Wells, Nev.; and Rocky Pinheiro, Glenn, Calif.

Newly appointed members representing beef importers are Danielle Rind, Seattle, Wash.; Terry Meikle, Washington, D.C.; and Tom Healey, Minneapolis, Minn.

–The Hagstrom Report