Secretary Vilsack announces Cattlemen’s Beef Board appointments |

Secretary Vilsack announces Cattlemen’s Beef Board appointments

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack Dec. 8 announced 40 appointments to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms.

“These appointees represent a cross-section of the beef industry, and I am confident that beef producers and importers of cattle, beef and beef products will be well-served by them,” said Vilsack.

In 2009, according to U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) statistics, top beef-producing states included Texas, Kansas, Nebraska, California and Oklahoma.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: Eric Smith, AL; Weldon Wynn, AR; James Maxey and Manuel Rodrigues, CA; Harold Wick, CO; James Lefils, FL; Dan Hinman, ID; Jeanne Harland, IL; Donald Gurtner, IN; William Frazee and Kent Pruismann, IA; Brittany Howell and Steve Irsik, KS; Julianna Jepson, KY; Paul Kent, MN; Howard Hardecke and Brenda Black, MO; Leo McDonnell, MT; Albert Davis and David Wright, NE; Patricia Bikowsky, NY; Elwood Barth, ND; Peter Guglielmino, Northwest Unit; Davis Denman, OK; Brett Morris, Brian Healey and Terry Detrick, OK; Patricia Venable, OR; Daniel Kniffen, PA; Vaughn Meyer, SD; Linda Crumley, Southeast Unit; Ronald Yeargin, TN; Charles Kiker III, Charles Ezer, Anne Anderson, V. Anne Wirtz, and Jackie Means, TX; Joseph Guthrie, VA; and Alvin Bartz, WI.

The newly appointed member representing importers is Lawrence Bryant, VA.

The Board oversees the collection of $1 per head on all cattle sold in the U.S., and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the Board contracts with established national, nonprofit, industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 106-member Board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The Secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importer certified organizations.


See more