South Dakota Ag Leadership announces members for 2010 class |

South Dakota Ag Leadership announces members for 2010 class

The board of directors of South Dakota Agriculture & Rural Leadership (SDARL) announced the selection of 33 members for their most recent class, Class VI.

The 33 participants selected for the class are Chase Adams, Sturgis; Danci Baker, Fort Pierre; Tammy Basel, Union Center; Ron Brownotter, Bullhead; Kelly Bruns, Brookings; Mary Ellen Cammack, Sturgis; Glen Crawford, Aberdeen; Corey Eberhart, Java; Travis Ellison, Lemmon; Connie Groop, Frederick; Joseph Hanson, Elk Point; Noelle Harding, Baltic; Sarah Jorgensen, Pierre; Jim Kopriva, Jr., Raymond; John Melius, Brookings; Tyler Melroe, Britton; Codi Mills, Philip; Todd Mortenson, Hayes; Jon Nelson, Lake Preston; Marlin Nilsson, Mansfield; Susanne Odden, Ree Heights; Shane Odegaard, Lake Preston; Michael Reecy, Dell Rapids; Olga Reuvekamp; Elkton; Clint Ridley, St. Onge; Rebecca Rink; Huron; Sal Roseland, Seneca; Jon Schaeffer, Viborg; John Schallenkamp, Bridgewater; Lealand Schoon, White River; Kari VanderWal, Volga; Ryan Wagner, Roslyn; and James Wangsness, Miller.

The board of SDARL chose the individuals from a field of 56 applicants. The 18-month program will help participants improve performance in their current leadership roles and prepare them for future positions in both agriculture and in their rural communities.

SDARL executive director Dan Gee said the pool of applicants was an impressive group. “The quality of applicants for SDARL Class VI was outstanding, and it includes more producers than any previous class,” Gee said. “I look forward to serving as the executive director for the class and to getting to know these participants.”

The class begins meeting in November in a series of 10 in-state seminars held at various locations. The program curriculum also includes a national travel-study experience to Washington, D.C., in February 2011, and an international agricultural travel-study seminar in 2012.

SDARL is a private, not-for-profit organization dedicated to identifying and developing leadership for agriculture and rural communities in order to enhance the quality of life in South Dakota. SDARL was formed in 1999 and has graduated five classes totaling 150 participants. The SDARL program is a private / public partnership funded through tuition and donations.

Applications will be taken next in early 2012. For more information visit the SDARL website at this link:

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User