South Dakota Horse Council seeks nominees for 2014 ‘Horse Person of the Year’ award |

South Dakota Horse Council seeks nominees for 2014 ‘Horse Person of the Year’ award

Nominate your favorite horse person to be honored by the S.D. Horse Council. staff photo

The South Dakota Horse Council, spokesman for the state’s horse industry, welcomes nominations for their 2014 SD Horseperson of the Year Award. Submissions should be postmarked by Jan 31.

Past honorees include: Dr. Steve Tornberg, Dr. Larry Insley, Georgia Sutton, Jo Waldner, Jen Eide, Chuck Nelson, Frances Loiseau, Raymond W. Sutton, Jr., Doug Nickel, Gene Carr, Dr. Robert Christensen, DVM, Art Reeves, Danny Bennett, Robert Gregg, Leonard W. Blok, Bob Reed, I. J. Carey, Dr. Hilton M. Briggs, Wayne Bratcher, Walter Schaefer, Raymond G. Sutton & Dr. John J. Edenburn, DVM. The list reflects decades of service and horse knowledge, indeed!

The award’s criteria are: The nominee has been instrumental in, or has influenced the South Dakota horse industry. Submitting the number of years of horse involvement & influence, along with accomplishments & contributions is helpful. Additional documents are encouraged.

The nomination form is available to print @ listed as “Horse Person of the Year Nomination Form.” Mail submissions to: SD Horse Council, President Gene Carr PO Box 25 Hayti, SD 57241. The SD Horse Council will present the award in conjunction with Little International at South Dakota State University March 29, 2014.

–SD Horse Council




Jennifer Day-Smith is the owner of Knotty Equine and founder of the art of equinitryology. She spends many of her days checking cows and yearlings on her and her husband’s ranch, and the rest of…

See more

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User