South Dakota men named to Conservation Commission |

South Dakota men named to Conservation Commission

PIERRE, S.D. ­ Gov. Dennis Daugaard has reappointed Gerald Thaden of Marvin and Thomas Wolles of Colton to the State Conservation Commission.

Thaden will serve as the Farmer Area 1 representative. Wolles will serve as the Farmer Area 2 representative.

³These appointees bring a wealth of experiences to the Conservation Commission,² said South Dakota Secretary of Agriculture Lucas Lentsch. ³Their knowledge of conservation practices has been invaluable during their past tenures.²

Thaden and Wolles will serve with seven others on the State Conservation Commission. Their terms expire on Jan. 1, 2019.

The Commission, which has administrative oversight of South Dakota¹s 69 Conservation Districts, is charged with overseeing the development and implementation of the State Coordinated Plan and setting natural resources policy. For more information, please visit the South Dakota Department of Agriculture¹s website.

Agriculture is a major contributor to South Dakota¹s economy, generating $25.6 billion in annual economic activity and employing over 115,000 South Dakotans. The South Dakota Department of Agriculture’s mission is to promote, protect, preserve and improve this industry for today and tomorrow. Visit us online at or find us on Facebook and Twitter.

–South Dakota Department of Agriculture

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User