South Dakota Territorial Professional Bull Riding Championship: Down to the wire |

South Dakota Territorial Professional Bull Riding Championship: Down to the wire

Good bulls and great cowboys made for an exciting event as the Territorial Professional Bull Riding concluded its 2010 season with four championship rounds held at the Pennington County Event Center in Rapid City, Nov. 26-27.

In a come-from-behind run, John Jacobs, Timber Lake, SD, rode past the three top contenders who had lead the standings for most of the season. Winning the second round, tying for the win in the fourth round and winning the finals average gave Jacobs the Year-end Championship. Runner-up Year-end Champion by a very slim margin was TR Stirling of Highmore, SD.

Other round winners were Wyatt Gregg, Highmore, SD, first round; Stetson Lawrence, Trenton, ND, third round; and Jayden Hansen, Gettysburg, SD, for the fourth round tie.

In the Junior Bull Riding, the finals average Champion was Dalton Dampier, Belle Fourche, SD and the Year-end Champion was Treavor Easton, Wessington Springs, SD. Wyatt Alexander, Halliday, ND, finished as the Runner Year-end Champion.

Buckle sponsors include: BankWest and Weischedel Bucking Bulls, Onida; Ranches of Cherry Creek, Wessington Springs; The Knuckle Saloon, Sturgis; Climate Systems, Inc, Sioux Falls;, Interior; Fawcett Farms/Trucking, Ree Heights; Runnings and Joe’s Place, Rapid City; Mobridge Livestock and Smokin’ Gun Rodeo Productions, Mobridge; Coleman Bucking Bulls, Springfield, SD; and Gordon Livestock, Gordon, NE.

Major sponsors for the event were: McKie Automotive Group, RCC/Western Outlet, Black Hills Power, Fischer Beverage, BankWest, Quality Inn, Rushmore Radio, Copy Country of Rapid City; Sandhills Oil Co., Hyannis, NE; and Chase Auto, Pierre, SD.