Ten named to South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame | TSLN.com

Ten named to South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame

The South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame will induct 10 new members in 2008.

Those selected are Martha Flamming-Grimme, Bon Homme County; Gary and Gloria Haiwick, Hyde County; Vi and Gordon “Cobbie” Magness Jr., Beadle County; Larry D. Mattke, Beadle County; Roger Megard, Minnehaha County; Robert “Gus” Nelson, Sanborn County; and the late Richard and Leona Nussbaum, Minnehaha County.

These 10 individuals will be inducted into the South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame during a ceremony at 5:15 p.m. on Aug. 31 on the 4-H Stage at the South Dakota State Fairgrounds in Huron.

The South Dakota 4-H Hall of Fame was created during the 4-H centennial in 2002. Marilyn Rasmussen, a youth development/4-H specialist for the South Dakota Cooperative Extension Service. The 10 individuals honored this year join more than 150 members to date.

“The Hall of Fame recognizes the significant and lengthy contributions of volunteers from across the state who have played key roles in 4-H youth development programs in their communities,” Rasmussen said. “The 4-H Hall of Fame ceremony is just one way that 4-H, the Cooperative Extension Service, and SDSU can honor a few of the many dedicated people who contribute their time and talents to help younger generations grow and develop important life skills as they become good citizens and leaders in their communities.”


See more

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User