Tom Jones, Wesley Grau, Weldon Wynn are new CBB officers |

Tom Jones, Wesley Grau, Weldon Wynn are new CBB officers

The Cattlemen’s Beef Board (CBB) seated new members and elected 2011 officers, as well as members of its Executive Committee and the Beef Promotion Operating Committee, during its annual meeting in Denver, CO, Feb. 5.

The Beef Board unanimously elected Arkansas cow-calf producer Tom Jones to serve as 2011 chairman of the Board, with outgoing chairman Dan Dierschke of Texas handing over the gavel as he ended his chairmanship at Saturday’s meeting. New Mexico cow-calf and seedstock producer Wesley Grau was elected vice chairman, and Weldon Wynn, a cow-calf producer from Arkansas, was elected to serve as secretary/treasurer of the Beef Board for the year.

After being appointed by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture in November, a total of 40 Board members – including 29 new members and 11 existing members who were appointed to a second term – were seated for service on the Beef Board after taking the oath of office from USDA Marketing Specialist Craig Shackelford during a CBB meeting on Feb. 3.

New members seated and the states they represent include: Eric L. Smith, AL; Jimmy Maxey, CA; Jim Lefils, FL; Don Gurtner, IN; Kent Pruismann, IA; Brittany Howell and Steve Irsik, KS; Julianna Jepson, KY; Paul Kent, MN; Howard Hardecke and Brenda Black, MO; Leo McDonnell, MT; Al Davis and David Wright, NE; Patty Bikowsky, NY; Woody Barth, ND; Pete Guglielmino, Northwest Unit; Davis Denman, OH; Brett Morris, OK; Pat Venable, OR; Vaughn Meyer, SD; Linda Crumley, Southeast Unit; Ronnie Yeargin, TN; Chuck Kiker III, Anne Anderson, Anne Wirtz and Jackie Means, TX; Joe Guthrie, VA; and Alvin R. Bartz, WI. The newly appointed member representing importers is Laurie Bryant, VA.

Reappointments and the states they represent include: Weldon Wynn, AR; Manuel Rodrigues, CA; Andy Wick, CO; Dan Hinman, ID; Jeanne Harland, IL; Will Frazee, IA; Paul Kent, MN; Brian Healey and Terry Detrick, OK; Dan Kniffen, PA; and Charles Ezer, TX.