Two MT counties named primary natural disaster areas |

Two MT counties named primary natural disaster areas

Governor Steve Bullock announced today that Lake and Hill Counties were designated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) as primary natural disaster areas due to extreme weather and drought conditions, and six additional counties have been named contiguous disaster counties.

“Montana experienced extreme drought and severe weather that included frost, hail, and high winds this crop season. Both Lake and Hill Counties experienced a 30-percent or greater crop production loss, which is required by USDA for designation as a primary natural disaster,” said Bullock. “We’re working closely with FSA to ensure that producers know what relief programs they are eligible for should they need assistance.”

This declaration allows farms and ranches in the designated counties to be considered for assistance from the Farm Services Agency (FSA) to recover from losses as a result of the natural disasters. USDA determined Blaine County did not meet the 30-percent or greater crop production loss threshold required to be designated as a primary natural disaster; however, producers are eligible for emergency loans under the contiguous disaster counties designation.

Counties designated as primary disaster areas are:



Areas designated as contiguous disaster counties are:







Local FSA offices can provide affected producers with more information and application requirements. More information about the declaration can be found at:

–Montana Farm Service Agency