BeefTalk | TSLN.com

BeefTalk

BeefTalk: Cowsonality Important to a Productive Cow Herd

October 11, 2018 — Developing and maintaining a producing cow herd is no easy task, and doing that task well is close to the heart of every producer. Even when the cows aren't tagged, every producer can pick out the favorite cow or cows and recite a unique story

Learn more »

BeefTalk: The Challenge of Managing Human Resources

October 4, 2018 — BeefTalk: The Challenge of Managing Human Resources Images One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. Having the right team is critical to the success

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Market Cows and Bulls Rather Than Cull

September 20, 2018 — Fall is the time for breeding cattle inventory reconciliation. Factors such as the availability of feed, labor and desire will be part of the review. The outcomes of this review really set the future for the cow-calf enterprise and the degree of managerial pressure through

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Cows as Combines

September 14, 2018 — Cows are harvesters, sort of a biological combine, and dining on crop aftermath can be a real component to profitable commercial beef production. Yes, bison, yaks and many other four-legged precursors were company competitors, but as far as production units, the cow combines win out.

Learn more »

BeefTalk: 2018 Cow-Calf Production Benchmarks

September 6, 2018 — Commercial beef producers joined the "500 Club" in pounds weaned per cow exposed, according to the 2018 Cow Herd Appraisal Performance Software (CHAPS) records. The new benchmark is 502 pounds and illustrates better understanding of benchmarks. This knowledge is critical because it allows producers to

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Economic Greats – 93 Percent of Cow’s Weight Harvested

August 31, 2018 — As I was reviewing Cow Herd Appraisal Performance Software (CHAPS) records recently, cow Y1002's record popped up. Because of the weight of her calves at harvest (93 percent of her weight), she is one of the economic greats of the Dickinson Research Extension Center's herd.

Learn more »

BeefTalk: What Can Sheep Teach Cows?

August 24, 2018 — Diversity of livestock is a healthy approach to livestock production, just as the integration of different plants is a healthy approach to expanded cropping systems. In the end, the soil benefits. When soil is healthy, living systems, including us, benefit. Focusing on comingling livestock, this

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Livestock Diversity a Good Thing

August 16, 2018 — The study of chemistry is based on absolutes more than variation. The study of biology is based on variation more than absolutes. Sometimes, what we do is absolute, but more often than not, what we do has a varied response. That is so true in

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Sheep and Cows: Some Do and Some Do Not

August 9, 2018 — Driving across the grasslands, one finds oneself asking, "Who eats all this grass?" Those who live in more urban settings actually ask, "Who cuts the grass?" Well, we have no need to cut grass because sheep and cows graze, coexisting within the same grasslands, along

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Cost Per Pound of Calf is Struggling

July 26, 2018 — Beef production, like any other business, needs to control costs to continue in business. For the total optimist, the thought would be that price always would offset costs; thus, perpetual dollars would be coming into the business. Cattle producers know well that is not true.

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Cow-calf Enterprise Expenses Are Up

July 20, 2018 — The business success of beef enterprises often suffers because two questions are not evaluated regularly. First, how much does the average beef producer have invested in the cattle operation? Second, can a producer get a fair market return on that investment? Some families accept a

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Is the Cow-Calf Enterprise Keeping Pace?

July 13, 2018 — In the business of cattle, producers seek to move forward by anticipating future opportunities and realizing what obstacles are present. That is not easy. However, reviewing and understanding past numbers helps. So where is the industry? My favorite process to evaluate cow-calf production numbers is

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Future of Beef Revisited – Industry Integration

June 29, 2018 — Those of us in the beef industry have two big questions to ponder in the future: How much do we actually change or accept based on what we deem appropriate? How much have we changed based on what is around us rather than our own

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Future of Beef Revisited – Consumer Issues and Demand

June 15, 2018 — BeefTalk: Future of Beef Revisited – Consumer Issues and Demand Images Three Noticeable Changes in Beef! Three Noticeable Changes in Beef! Consumers have more opportunities to express their opinion about the food they buy and eat. By Kris Ringwall, Beef Specialist NDSU Extension After four

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Future of Beef Revisited – Economics

May 24, 2018 — Revisiting yesterday is not a bad idea. In 2006, the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association published a discussion regarding the future of beef in the Choices journal (Volume 21, No. 3, http://www.choicesmagazine.org). As a part of the series, author Michael Boehlje wrote the article "Economics

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Future of Beef Revisited

May 17, 2018 — More than a decade ago (fall of 2006), the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association published a discussion focused on the future of animal agriculture in the journal titled Choices (http://www.choicesmagazine.org) in Volume 21, No. 3. Late in 2010 and early in 2011, I wrote a

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Pasturing – Get it Right

May 11, 2018 — Pastures and cattle seem synonymous, co-dependent. Pasturing is a product of domestication, the need to keep cattle in a desired area and properly engage cattle with plants. To the bystander, pasturing may seem like a cumbersome human activity, building fences, developing water stations and imaginative

Learn more »

BeefTalk: On Day 21 Following Bull Turnout, 60 Percent of Cows Bred

May 3, 2018 — Are the cows ready to breed, and will 60 percent conceive a calf within 21 days following bull turnout? In reality, cattle never should be out of shape for breeding. Weather and feed supplies always should be managed so animals are in good condition. The

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Balanced Mineral Supplements are Good for the Cow

April 26, 2018 — The change in the weather has brought much excitement to the north country. Pasture sorting for the appropriate turnout day is underway, but use caution. Why the hesitation after the long wait for turnout? Well, fast-growing, lush grass may create a problem in supplying the

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Grass Calving

April 12, 2018 — Reflection is a good thing. Reflection helps put our decisions in perspective relative to our lives, our work, our community and our world. This spring's weather has caused many to reflect on when to calve. The many forays of winter into spring this year have

Learn more »