Opinion, Analysis for Ranchers in South Dakota, Montana, Wyoming | TSLN.com

Opinion

BeefTalk: Cowsonality Important to a Productive Cow Herd

October 11, 2018 — Developing and maintaining a producing cow herd is no easy task, and doing that task well is close to the heart of every producer. Even when the cows aren't tagged, every producer can pick out the favorite cow or cows and recite a unique story

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: High school rodeo info, Sturgis smoker, fundraisers, Cowboy Reunion

October 10, 2018 — It's sure been a cold and dreary week or so. I hope by the time you read this we are back to more seasonal fall weather. There was quite a bit of moisture accumulated through all the cold though, both as rain and as snow.

Learn more »

Baxter Black: Hung Up In The Fence

October 9, 2018 — She was a pretty cow. A big polled Hereford but she was only half bagged up. So they sorted her off. These were pretty rangy cows and when they got separated from the big bunch they got nervous. Rex and Clair dropped her over into

Learn more »

Lee Pitts: My Best Idea Yet

October 9, 2018 — I've tried everything to make a living in the cow business. I bought expensive replacement heifers when the grass was green and the price was high only to have to sell them for beef eight months later when the grass and the market both dried

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Tribute dinner, event series galore, meetings, steer wrestling clinic, BHSS consignments open

October 5, 2018 — Did I miss something? Did I sleep through October? It feels like we went from September to November. It's kind of like how we didn't have April this year either, just 60+ days of March. It makes a person start searching for their winter woollies.

Learn more »

BeefTalk: The Challenge of Managing Human Resources

October 4, 2018 — BeefTalk: The Challenge of Managing Human Resources Images One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. Having the right team is critical to the success

Learn more »

Lee Pitts: Save The Ice Cube

October 1, 2018 — I have lived for most of my life within 10 miles of San Luis Obispo, CA, or SLO as it's known. Normally I hate cities, long lines and traffic jams so I tend to stay away from places with stoplights, but as towns go, SLO

Learn more »

Baxter Black: A Minority Needs Help

September 28, 2018 — What do cable TV and "Where your food comes from" have in common? ANSWER: Television ag programming is beneficial, educational to the curious public people who eat food, and the food producers that provide the food they eat. Interesting surveys: population of U.S. 327 million

Learn more »

Day Writing by Heather Hamilton-Maude: The pause before fall

September 27, 2018 — It is a dreary, cool, and rainy day in western South Dakota. The perfect rain to get everything nicely soaked up going into fall; a beautiful day. It feels like the earth's orbit slows just a bit for a week or two right now, during

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Vezain injured, Fall Run Stray Gathering, barrels races, clinic, sorting, team roping

September 27, 2018 — We finally had a hard frost here on Cottonwood Creek. That should take care of the flies until May. There are a couple of big ones buzzing around here in the house but they are slow enough that even I can get them swatted. I

Learn more »

Baxter Black: I Should’a Brought a Raincoat

September 21, 2018 — As Noah said when he went out on the deck to check the windshield wipers, "I should'a brought a raincoat." Paul's day started out with a drumroll. Every morning for months as he went into the machine shed he noticed the rusty gate hinge on

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Market Cows and Bulls Rather Than Cull

September 20, 2018 — Fall is the time for breeding cattle inventory reconciliation. Factors such as the availability of feed, labor and desire will be part of the review. The outcomes of this review really set the future for the cow-calf enterprise and the degree of managerial pressure through

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Fallish, calf roping, fundraisers, bronc futurity, SDRA finals, ranchy stuff, breakaway

September 19, 2018 — It sure looks like fall is upon us. The leaves are changing on the trees, nights are cool and crisp, and the horses are getting that velvety look in the morning. Everyone is busy shipping yearlings, preconditioning calves, and getting hay hauled in from the

Learn more »

Lee Pitts: Everybody Looks Better In A Cowboy Hat

September 17, 2018 — When I taught myself how to engrave silver conchas I practiced on coins. Most of it was foreign coinage but occasionally I'd practice on U.S. coins. And yes, it's legal as long as a person doesn't try to defraud anyone. Turning nickels into quarters would

Learn more »

Baxter Black: That Time Again

September 14, 2018 — It's fall on the cow outfit. Time to get out the WD 40 and grease up the handles on the squeeze chute. Maybe find the three or four syringes that work, buy some new gaskets and barrels along with a box of needles. Time to

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Cows as Combines

September 14, 2018 — Cows are harvesters, sort of a biological combine, and dining on crop aftermath can be a real component to profitable commercial beef production. Yes, bison, yaks and many other four-legged precursors were company competitors, but as far as production units, the cow combines win out.

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Big money in youth rodeo, lots of roping, goat tying, clinics, horse sales

September 13, 2018 — The days are getting shorter and mornings cooler. A few mornings have given the saddle horses that velvety look. They haying is nearly done here. It's all baled, but I don't consider it done until we have it in the stack yards. It's a good

Learn more »

Lee Pitts: Name Your Poison

September 12, 2018 — Today's lesson is about poisonous plants, dangerous delectables and fatal feedstuffs. I'm talking nightshade, lupine, milkweed, and the poison used to kill Socrates: hemlock. Water hemlock is said to look a lot like parsnips and a human can die in half an hour just by

Learn more »

Outside Circle: E.I.A. still troubling, ranch rodeos, youth rodeos, benefits, bronc riding, cart clinic

September 7, 2018 — What beautiful late summer weather we're having. The calves are really on the gain since the mid-summer black fly scourge has ended. They can handle the horn flies just fine apparently. The passing cycle of black flies (or whatever you call them that is printable)

Learn more »

Day Writing by Heather Hamilton-Maude: Love is a verb

September 7, 2018 — "You can't make a person love someone." I was told a couple weeks back, followed by a long dissertation on why it really was alright, likely best, that one spouse had left another. It has weighed heavily on my mind since. It weighs on me

Learn more »