Opinion, Analysis for Ranchers in South Dakota, Montana, Wyoming | TSLN.com

Opinion

Lee Pitts: Here and There

February 18, 2019 — I've been in every state but feel most at home on the left side of the Mississippi. I've climbed all over the 17 western states, floated the Rogue, rode horseback on the Borderlands, know how to pronounce the capital of South Dakota, visited Cabelas in

Learn more »

Lee Pitts: Women’s Suffer-Age

February 10, 2019 — If I was a woman I'd be a radical feminist and darn tired of sick jokes like, "My wife ran off with my best friend and I miss him." Or, "women have smaller feet so they can stand closer to the sink," or a sign

Learn more »

Baxter Black: Graftin’ Calves

February 10, 2019 — I was ugly when I was born. How ugly were you? I was so ugly they had to tie my mother's legs together so I could nurse! If you've ever grafted a calf you know just what I'm talkin' about. Graftin' calves. An unnatural act.

Learn more »

A Few Thoughts by John Nalivka – A well-marbled steak and single malt scotch

February 8, 2019 — I follow a couple of rules – first, never leave a good steak unattended on the grill and second, don't mix anything with expensive liquor except a couple of ice cubes. Those two rules can be combined into one – have a glass of good

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Thanks for the Memories, Bob

February 7, 2019 — We lost one of our own. My brother-in-law, Bob Burke, passed away on Feb. 1, just a day after his 68th birthday. Cancer is a wicked enemy. He fought it valiantly. I won't say it won though, because Bob won. He had accepted his Savior

Learn more »

Day Writing by Heather Hamilton-Maude: A ranch wife cooking show?

February 1, 2019 — Some of the ladies at Tri-State teasingly suggested I should have a cooking show last week when my kids took lasagna noodles, added apple cider, and made "choo choo noodle soup." I, of course, had to salvage the noodles. So, I rinsed them thoroughly, cooked

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Long Pines Livestock wins again, high school rodeo fundraiser, rodeo schools, barrels, Brannaman

January 31, 2019 — This weather sure has gone from one extreme to another. From a chinook that blew the snow into water and made the creeks and draws run to bone freezing record cold, all in a couple of day's time, leaving the ground a sheet of ice.

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Cowsonality Important to a Productive Cow Herd

October 11, 2018 — Developing and maintaining a producing cow herd is no easy task, and doing that task well is close to the heart of every producer. Even when the cows aren't tagged, every producer can pick out the favorite cow or cows and recite a unique story

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: High school rodeo info, Sturgis smoker, fundraisers, Cowboy Reunion

October 10, 2018 — It's sure been a cold and dreary week or so. I hope by the time you read this we are back to more seasonal fall weather. There was quite a bit of moisture accumulated through all the cold though, both as rain and as snow.

Learn more »

Baxter Black: Hung Up In The Fence

October 9, 2018 — She was a pretty cow. A big polled Hereford but she was only half bagged up. So they sorted her off. These were pretty rangy cows and when they got separated from the big bunch they got nervous. Rex and Clair dropped her over into

Learn more »

Lee Pitts: My Best Idea Yet

October 9, 2018 — I've tried everything to make a living in the cow business. I bought expensive replacement heifers when the grass was green and the price was high only to have to sell them for beef eight months later when the grass and the market both dried

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Tribute dinner, event series galore, meetings, steer wrestling clinic, BHSS consignments open

October 5, 2018 — Did I miss something? Did I sleep through October? It feels like we went from September to November. It's kind of like how we didn't have April this year either, just 60+ days of March. It makes a person start searching for their winter woollies.

Learn more »

BeefTalk: The Challenge of Managing Human Resources

October 4, 2018 — BeefTalk: The Challenge of Managing Human Resources Images One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. One person can only do so much. Having the right team is critical to the success

Learn more »

Lee Pitts: Save The Ice Cube

October 1, 2018 — I have lived for most of my life within 10 miles of San Luis Obispo, CA, or SLO as it's known. Normally I hate cities, long lines and traffic jams so I tend to stay away from places with stoplights, but as towns go, SLO

Learn more »

Baxter Black: A Minority Needs Help

September 28, 2018 — What do cable TV and "Where your food comes from" have in common? ANSWER: Television ag programming is beneficial, educational to the curious public people who eat food, and the food producers that provide the food they eat. Interesting surveys: population of U.S. 327 million

Learn more »

Day Writing by Heather Hamilton-Maude: The pause before fall

September 27, 2018 — It is a dreary, cool, and rainy day in western South Dakota. The perfect rain to get everything nicely soaked up going into fall; a beautiful day. It feels like the earth's orbit slows just a bit for a week or two right now, during

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Vezain injured, Fall Run Stray Gathering, barrels races, clinic, sorting, team roping

September 27, 2018 — We finally had a hard frost here on Cottonwood Creek. That should take care of the flies until May. There are a couple of big ones buzzing around here in the house but they are slow enough that even I can get them swatted. I

Learn more »

Baxter Black: I Should’a Brought a Raincoat

September 21, 2018 — As Noah said when he went out on the deck to check the windshield wipers, "I should'a brought a raincoat." Paul's day started out with a drumroll. Every morning for months as he went into the machine shed he noticed the rusty gate hinge on

Learn more »

BeefTalk: Market Cows and Bulls Rather Than Cull

September 20, 2018 — Fall is the time for breeding cattle inventory reconciliation. Factors such as the availability of feed, labor and desire will be part of the review. The outcomes of this review really set the future for the cow-calf enterprise and the degree of managerial pressure through

Learn more »

Outside Circle by Jan Swan Wood: Fallish, calf roping, fundraisers, bronc futurity, SDRA finals, ranchy stuff, breakaway

September 19, 2018 — It sure looks like fall is upon us. The leaves are changing on the trees, nights are cool and crisp, and the horses are getting that velvety look in the morning. Everyone is busy shipping yearlings, preconditioning calves, and getting hay hauled in from the

Learn more »